Predicting the 2014-15 Player of the Year for Each College Basketball Conference

« Prev
1 of 33
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Predicting the 2014-15 Player of the Year for Each College Basketball Conference
Charlie Riedel/Associated Press

College basketball's Conference Player of the Year awards provide us with the most holistic snapshot of a season in a sport that consists of more than 350 teams spread across 49 states.

All it takes is one quick look through names like Doug McDermott, Shabazz Napier, Nick Johnson, Scottie Wilbekin, T.J. Warren and Fred VanVleet on the list of 32 players who received awards this past season, and we instantly remember some of the most intriguing stories that transpired.

And yet, conference POY awards don't get nearly the amount of attention that they deserve.

We spend months debating the best players in the major conferences only to have POY honors hastily announced between the end of the regular season and the start of conference tournamentsprecisely when "The Bubble" is the only thing anyone is interested in talking about.

To marginally make up for the lack of respect they will receive in the middle of March, we're dedicating 32 end-of-May slides to the players we're expecting to win these awards in the upcoming season.

Because Jabari Parker, Andrew Wiggins, Joel Embiid, Julius Randle and Aaron Gordon were among the 100 percent of freshmen who failed to receive conference POY honors this past season, incoming freshmen were excluded from consideration.

The following slides are listed in alphabetical order by conference. Though a favorite and top challenger is listed for each conference, only one player per team was included.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.