Kings XI Punjab vs. Delhi, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info & Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 24, 2014

Kings XI Punjab's David Miller bats during their Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match against Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad, India, Tuesday, May 8, 2012. (AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A.)
Mahesh Kumar A/Associated Press

Kings XI Punjab were the first team to seal their place in the playoffs. The Delhi Daredevils are dead and buried in the competition, so there will be little at stake when the two teams clash at Mohali on Sunday.


Venue: Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh

Date: Sunday, May 25

Time: 11:30 a.m. BST, 4 p.m. local time

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore). 

Weather: Very hot and very sunny for the game on Sunday. AccuWeather forecasts temperatures of up to 44 degrees Celsius, and while there will be some rain around on Saturday, it should have cleared by the time the two sides clash.



As far as dead rubbers in this year's Indian Premier League go, this match ranks right at the top. Kings XI have already confirmed the top spot and Delhi have zero chance of getting anywhere near the playoffs. What is there to play for?

Delhi, who are still floating on a dismal four points from all their games and who are on an eight-match losing streak, could do with a win to save face. Kevin Pietersen's men simply have not clicked together this year. A win might not mean anything for them in the context of the tournament, but in terms of their morale, it will be a boost.

Kings XI will want to keep the momentum going before it gets to crunch time. They have been sensational this year. The batting of Glenn Maxwell and David Miller has blown away bowling attacks all across the show. 

Shaun Marsh, who returned to action for Kings XI against Mumbai earlier this week, has been with Kings XI for a long time. He puts the performances this season down to the mix of experience and youth the side now has. In an interview with, Marsh said:

What has clicked nicely this time is the perfect mixture of senior and younger players we have. We’ve got some exciting young Indian players who are coming through really well and performing under pressure. The senior guys are leading the way for them and supporting them in every way. It is also good to have a coach like Sanjay Bangar; he has done a great job with all the players and so has Joe Dawes. The coaching staff and the players have gelled really well together.

Considering Delhi's poor form and what happens when the Kings XI players just relax and let go, Pietersen and Co. could be in for a massive mauling. Resting too many players won't be too wise for the Punjab team since the momentum of form and a win will serve them well heading into the knockouts.


Key players

Kings XI Punjab

Almost every single player in the Kings XI team has been a key player this season. With so little relying on the game, it's a good chance for players like Virender Sehwag to continue playing without pressure or expectation.


Delhi Daredevils

JP Duminy has been all-round superstar for Delhi throughout this year's competition. He's racked up 402 runs at an average of 57.42, and Sunday offers yet another opportunity for the South African to bolster his profile.



Kings XI Punjab

George Bailey (capt.), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Virender Sehwag, Mitchell Johnson, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhaman Saha, Glenn Maxwell, Rishi Dhawan, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Akshar Patel, Beuran Hendricks, Karanveer Singh, Murali Kartik, Shivam Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Laxmipathy Balaji, Parvinder Awana, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Mandeep Singh.


Delhi Daredevils

Kevin Pietersen (C), Mayank Agarwal, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, S Kaul, Milind Kumar, Mohammed Shami, S Nadeem, Jimmy Neesham, Wayne Parnell, H Sharath, R Sharma, Laxmiratan Shukla, R Shukla, Ross Taylor, Manoj Tiwary, S Tiwary, Jaydev Unadkat, M Vijay and J Yadav.