Kolkata Knight Riders v Royal Challengers Bangalore: IPL 2014, Scorecard, Report

Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorMay 22, 2014

Pune Warriors player Robin Uthappa bats during the Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match against Mumbai Indians in Mumbai, India, Wednesday, April 20, 2011. (AP Photo/Rajanish Kakade)
Rajanish Kakade/Associated Press

The Kolkata Knight Riders joined the Kings XI Punjab and Chennai Super Kings in the 2014 Indian Premier League play-offs with a 30-run win over Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The hosts were put into bat at Eden Gardens and made 195-4 as Robin Uthappa and Shakib Al Hasan piled on the runs.

RCB’s hopes of reaching the post-season were ended as they could only make 165-5 in their reply.

Uthappa continued his remarkable form as he made 83 off just 51 deliveries, his eighth consecutive score of 40 of more.

The 28-year-old claimed the Orange Cap as the tournament’s top run scorer after he hit 10 boundaries and a six in his 51-ball knock.

He put on 121 in 11.4 overs for the fourth wicket with Shakib Al Hasan, who smashed 60his maiden IPL half-century.

The Bangladeshi all-rounder was bowled by Abu Nechim after hitting three sixes in his 38-ball innings.

Kolkata Knight Riders: 195-4 (20 Overs)
Robin UthappaNOT OUT8351162.74101
Gautam Gambhirc Yogesh Takawale b Mitchell Starc44100.0010
Manish Pandeyc Mitchell Starc b Ashok Dinda1312108.3330
Yusuf Pathanrun out (Virat Kohli)2213169.2312
Shakib Al Hasanb Abu Nechim6038157.8953
Ryan ten DoeschateNOT OUT63200.0001
Mitchell Starc403218.008
Ashok Dinda403819.509
Abu Nechim403318.259
Muttiah Muralitharan201909.503
Yuvraj Singh2021010.503
Yuzvendra Chahal4050012.507

In their reply, RCB lost hard-hitting Chris Gayle in the second over and, despite not losing any further wickets, could only reach 72-1 at halfway.

Spinners Sunil Narine and Shakib put a stranglehold on the batsmen and the West Indian offie removed both Virat Kohli (38) and Yogesh Takawale (45) in the 13th over.

That left star batsmen Yuvraj Singh and AB de Villiers needing 103 runs from 42 balls, and Narine removed both in the 17th over to finish with 4-20 and ensure his side's progress into the last four after their sixth consecutive win.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 165-5 (20 Overs)
Chris Gaylelbw Umesh Yadav6966.6610
Yogesh Takawaleb Sunil Narine4536125.0051
Virat Kohlic Morne Morkel b Sunil Narine3831122.5831
Yuvraj Singhc Vinay Kumar b Sunil Narine2212183.3312
AB de Villiersb Sunil Narine1313100.0010
Sachin RanaNOT OUT1912158.3320
Mitchell StarcNOT OUT128150.0010
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 1, lb 8)10
TOTAL (5 wickets; 20 overs)165
Morne Morkel402105.2514
Umesh Yadav4045111.257
Sunil Narine402045.009
Vinay Kumar4044011.002
Shakib Al Hasan402706.755

Kolkata’s final regular season game is against Sunrisers Hyderabad on Saturday.