Comparing the Monaco Grand Prix with the Indy 500

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Comparing the Monaco Grand Prix with the Indy 500
MICHAEL CONROY/Associated Press
F1 cars at the home of the Indy 500.

This year, two of the world's greatest motor races take place on the same day.

On Sunday 25 May, the 2014 Formula One Monaco Grand Prix starts at 12 p.m. UTC (1 p.m. BST, 8 a.m. EDT). A few hours later, it's the turn of the Indy 500, scheduled to start at 4:12 p.m. UTC (5:12 p.m. BST, 12:12 p.m. EDT).

The races form two of the three parts of the Triple Crown of Motorsport, the other being the 24 Hours of Le Mans. But that's the only thing they have in commonMonaco and the Indy 500 are like chalk and cheese.

One is run on the tight, twisty streets of the world's second-smallest country. The 2013 race's fastest lap was done at an average speed of just 97 miles an hour (157 kilometres an hour).

The other takes place on a vast, sprawling superspeedway in the United States' 13th-largest city, with 2013's fastest lap set at an average speed of 227 miles an hour (365 kilometres an hour).

One has tiny straights, the other has two giants. One has 19 corners, the other four.

So how do they compare? Is one a greater event, or do they deserve equal billing?

Looking at history, spectacle, excitement and more, here's a side-by-side comparison.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

Formula 1

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.