Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Bangalore, IPL 2014: Video Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterMay 20, 2014

Australia batsman David Warner plays a shot during their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match against Bangladesh in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Tuesday, April 1, 2014. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

Royal Challengers Bangalore's hopes of reaching the Indian Premier League play-offs took a hit with a seven-wicket defeat at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad, who kept their own slim hopes alive.

Bangalore won the toss, and Virat Kohli chose to bat first, but 160-6 was a middling score rather than a daunting one in Deccan.

The Sunrisers made a rapid start in reply, led by Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner, only to lose their way a little and find themselves chasing 20 from the final two overs.

The finishing of Darren Sammy and Aaron Finch, however, got them over the line.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Scorecard
Chris Gaylec Parveez Rasool b Karan Sharma142070.0010
Parthiv Patellbw Bhuvneshwar Kumar44100.0010
Virat Kohlic Dale Steyn b Irfan Pathan6741163.4144
Yuvraj Singhc Dale Steyn b Parveez Rasool212584.0021
AB de Villiersb Bhuvneshwar Kumar2917170.5821
Sachin RanaNOT OUT127171.4220
Mitchell Starcrun out (Naman Ojha)66100.0010
EXTRAS(w 4, b 2, lb 1)7
TOTAL (6 wickets; 20 overs)160TOTAL
Bhuvneshwar Kumar42726.759
Dale Steyn42305.759
Parveez Rasool42616.509
Karan Sharma32719.008
Venugopal Rao1707.002
Irfan Pathan32819.336
Darren Sammy119019.000
IPL Official

It was a match the Royal Challengers will rue, but with Chris Gayle out of form and struggling, the innings got off to an all-too-familiar sluggish start.

He fell for 14 from 20 balls, with Parthiv Patel already bested by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, perhaps the seamer of the tournament so far.

Kumar and Dale Steyn were frugal in their spells, which meant that even though Virat Kohli (67 from 41 balls) and AB de Villiers (29 from 17) threatened to take the game away from Hyderabad, neither quite managed it.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Scorecard
Shikhar Dhawanrun out (Yuvraj Singh)5039128.2071
David Warnerc Yuvraj Singh b Varun Aaron5946128.2634
Naman Ojhac Yuvraj Singh b Varun Aaron2420120.0002
Aaron FinchNOT OUT119122.2210
Darren SammyNOT OUT104250.0001
EXTRAS (w 3, b 2, lb 2)7
TOTAL (3 wickets; 19.4 overs)161
Muttiah Muralitharan42606.5013
Mitchell Starc3.43108.455
Varun Aaron43629.009
Abu Nechim2.22209.424
Yuzvendra Chahal43208.009
Yuvraj Singh1.41006.003
IPL Official

In response, Dhawan and Warner were paired together for the first time in the tournament. With Dhawan finally hitting some form and Warner at last restored to the top of the order, it worked.

Dhawan passed 50 to get the innings off to a breezy start, while Warner crunched four maximums in a 46-ball 59.

By the time the openers fell, there was still 35 required from the final 23 balls, and a chance for RCB to strangle the chase and steal victory emerged.

But the Sunrisers have some powerful finishers, and Varun Aaron and Mitchell Starc could not prevent the final push from Sammy and Finch to get the home team over the line.