MLB

Rockies Turn Triple Play After Interference Call on Padres' Seth Smith

(via MLB)
Brian ChenSocial Media Staff May 19, 2014

Triple plays are a rarity, so sometimes you may just need a little help to achieve them.

Such was the case Sunday afternoon when the Colorado Rockies played the San Diego Padres.

With men on first and second, Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado fielded a ground ball from Padres slugger Carlos Quentin. Arenado stepped on third base, threw to second baseman D.J. LeMahieu, who then fired it to first.

Quentin was originally called safe, but the umpire at second called interference on San Diego's Seth Smith as he slid into the bag.

The call was reversed, and the triple play was in the books.

The Rockies ended up winning the game 8-6 in 10 innings.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices