Atletico Madrid Wins First La Liga Title Since 1996, Snaps 9-Year Run by Giants

Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffMay 22, 2014

Atletico's Diego Godin from Uruguay, celebrates after scoring his side's first goal during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid at the Camp Nou stadium in Barcelona, Spain, Saturday, May 17, 2014. (AP Photo/Andres Kudacki)
Andres Kudacki/Associated Press

With a 1-1 draw against FC Barcelona at Camp Nou on Saturday, Atletico Madrid won La Liga for the first time since the 1995-1996 season. The league victory also broke a nine-year run of titles won only by Barcelona and Real Madrid, per ESPN Stats & Info.

The pressure was on Atletico early, after star striker Diego Costa—whose 27 goals were the third-most in league play this season—left the match after just 16 minutes due to a hamstring injury. Things got even tougher when Arda Turan was forced out just seven minutes later with a pelvic injury.

Barcelona took a 1-0 lead after Alexis Sanchez found the back of the net in the 33rd minute, and the Camp Nou faithful began picturing another championship. A Barca win would give them their fifth title in the last six seasons.

But a 49th minute goal from Diego Godin sent the traveling Atletico fans into a tizzy, as the equalizer eventually became the title-winner. Atletico finished the season at 90 points, while Barca and Real Madrid each finished at 87.

Atletico are also on the verge of a historic double, as they will face off against Real Madrid on Saturday in the UEFA Champions League final in Lisbon, Portugal. Barcelona are the last Spanish club to win the Liga title and the Champions League title in the same season, which they accomplished in 2011.