Preakness 2014 Post Positions: Historical Look at Best Slots in Derby History

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Preakness 2014 Post Positions: Historical Look at Best Slots in Derby History
Rob Carr/Getty Images

Following a riveting Kentucky Derby, it's almost time for the middle jewel of the Triple Crown when the 2014 Preakness Stakes gets underway on Saturday.

But first, the post draw will decide where each colt—and one filly—will start in Pimlico. While the posts at the Preakness are not as important as at Churchill Downs with a smaller field, getting a prime position will still be crucial for every horse.

Before the draw begins on Wednesday night, here's a look at the historical significance of each post and full information for the post draw.

Preakness Post Draw Information

Where: Pimlico Raceway, Baltimore, Md.

When: Wednesday, May 14 at 6 p.m. ET


Live StreamWatch ESPN

Preakness Stakes Winners by Post Position (Since 1909)
Post Winners Most Recent
1 9 Tabasco Cat - 1994
2 9 Snow Chief - 1986
3 11 Prairie Bayou - 1993
4 12 Curlin - 2007
5 11 Shackleford - 2011
6 16 Oxbow - 2013
7 13 Lookin At Lucky - 2010
8 9 Bernardini - 2006
9 4 I'll Have Another - 2012
10 2 Real Quiet - 1998
11 2 Point Given - 2001
12 3 Afleet Alex - 2005
13 1 Rachel Alexandra - 2009
14 0 N/A

Precious Post No. 6

Justin Heiman/Getty Images

There's always one post with a great history, and Post 6 is the special one in Pimlico.

There's no better example of that dominance than last year's running. Oxbow, who came in with 15-1 odds of winning, pulled past Orb and the rest of the field to win the Preakness.

Last year's post draw was posted by the Preakness Stakes' official Twitter account:

With a record 16 winners from the spot, no other post comes close. In a year where the No. 6 spot will be near the direct middle, the post is very similar to No. 10 or 11 at Churchill Downs.

Likewise, the far-inside posts have been historically bad for horses. Only one winner has came from Post 1 since 1961, with Tabasco Cat taking the prize in 1994.

No Worries for Outside Posts

Patrick Smith/Getty Images

While there are only a limited number of winners from outside Post 10, that shouldn't be a concern for this year's field.

Why? Well, there are only 10 horses currently set to trot out at Pimlico on Saturday.

And after racing against a loaded field of 19 geldings in the Derby, California Chrome will have much more running room. Regardless of his post position, the colt looks like a strong contender again, as Reuters Sports notes:

Which horse will win the Preakness?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Does he need a Triple Crown to prove he's great? No, but that's certainly not stopping owner Steve Coburn from putting high expectations on the horse, per Beth Harris of the Associated Press.

"I told people this colt will go down in history," Coburn said. "When he wins the Triple Crown, he will be the first California-bred to ever win a Triple Crown. That's where we're going."

Given the smaller field and the lack of geldings from the Kentucky Derby, California Chrome has a chance to take both of the first two jewels. If he can remain healthy, that might turn into a historic run at Belmont Stakes.

Follow R. Cory Smith on Twitter.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM

Horse Racing

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.