Bangalore vs. Delhi, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 12, 2014

Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman AB de Villiers celebrates their win over Pune Warriors in the Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match in Bangalore, India, Tuesday, April 17, 2012. Royal Challengers Bangalore won the match by six wickets. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

The Delhi Daredevils have been one of the worst teams of the Indian Premier League this year. They are hovering at the bottom of the table and take on Bangalore to try and avoid the wooden spoon.

Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Date: Tuesday, May 13

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: It's going to be another sunny and warm day in Bangalore, according to AccuWeather. Temperatures will reach into the mid-30 degrees Celsius during the day, dropping to about 32 by the time the match begins. 



Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils have both struggled in the IPL this year. Bangalore have had a marginally better run, but have won just three out of nine games. Delhi have won two out of nine.  It would take a miracle for either team to progress further in the competition, but there should still be a few fireworks when the two teams take each other on.

Bangalore were particularly dubious in their last outing, throwing the game away from a seemingly unbeatable position.  Having posted 190 in 20 overs with AB de Villiers and Yuvraj Singh being at their destructive best, RCB looked set for a big win.

Having reduced Rajasthan to 105-6 in 13.3 overs, Bangalore really should have won. Steve Smith and James Faulkner had other ideas, though, and they smacked an unbeaten 85-run partnership off just 5.2 overs to win with seven balls still remaining.  As far as deflating motivation goes, that loss would have hurt Bangalore significantly.

Bangalore’s bowlers have been inconsistent with only Yuzvendra Chahal managing to pick up wickets consistently.  Delhi, meanwhile, have faded into the background despite their star players. JP Duminy has been solid, but star-batsman Kevin Pietersen has not flourished as many have hoped he would. None of their bowlers have managed to pick up more than five wickets. Not once have Delhi managed to take all 10 wickets of their opposition.

The bad news for bowlers of both teams is that the Chinnaswamy favours the batsmen and has a quick outfield to boot. There might not be much at stake in terms of the competition for either team, but there is much pride to play for.


Key players

Royal Challengers Bangalore

AB de Villiers has had two good outings in a row now and Bangalore will be looking to him to continue his big-hitting prowess.  As one of the most adaptable batsmen in the game, the conditions are ideally suited to De Villiers and the South African should cash in.


Delhi Daredevils

Uncredited/Associated Press

If there ever was a time for Kevin Pietersen to find his form, it's now. Delhi might not have a shot at making the playoffs, but Pietersen still has a lot to prove. A good knock from the skipper will go a long way in helping Delhi save face.


Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli (c), Chris Gayle, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yuvraj Singh, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Mitchell Starc, Ravi Rampaul, Vijay Zol, Sachin Rana, Yogesh Takawale, Nic Maddinson, Sandeep Warrier, Tanmay Mishra, Harshal Patel, Shadab Jakati, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Ashok Dinda, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Delhi Daredevils

Kevin Pietersen (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), JP Duminy, Ross Taylor, Mayank Agarwal, Murali Vijay, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Milind Kumar, Jimmy Neesham, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Shukla, Wayne Parnell, HS Sharath, Laxi Ratan Shukla, Kedar Jadhav, Siddharth Kaul, Rahul Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Nathan Coulter-Nile.