Kings XI Punjab vs. Kolkata, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info, Preview

Chris BradshawFeatured ColumnistMay 10, 2014

Kings XI Punjab Parvinder Awana , third left,celebrates the wicket of Delhi Daredevils' Ross Taylor,unseen,  during an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match, in New Delhi, India , Tuesday, May 15, 2012.  (AP Photo/ Manish Swarup)
Manish Swarup/Associated Press

The Kolkata Knight Riders need to win their next Indian Premier League (IPL) match on Sunday to keep in contention for a semi-final place.

It will be tough going, though, as they visit the class act of the 2014 competition, Kings XI Punjab.


Venue: Cuttack

Date: May 11, 2014

Start time: 11.30 a.m. BST/4 p.m. local

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: According to Accuweather, it will be hot and humid in Cuttack on Sunday. It will be cloudy but should stay dry with temperatures reaching 36C.



Fans of Kings XI Punjab will be hoping for more of the same when their side meet the Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday.

The home team have been comfortably the best performers in the 2014 IPL, racking up seven wins from eight games.

The batting is looking absolutely stacked with Glenn Maxwell and David Miller packing a devastating middle order one-two punch.

With 460 runs at an average of 57.50 and a strike rate of strike rate of 204.44, Maxwell has been the tournament's most impressive batsman. Miller isn't far behind either with 284 runs at 47.33. Together they form a deadly combination.

The one weakness in the Punjab batting to date has been at the top of the order, but Virender Sehwag, with 30 from 24 balls, finally showed signs of life in Friday's win over Bangalore.

What the Kings XI bowling attack lacks in international star power, it more than makes up for with domestic guile.

Akshar Patel, Rishi Dhawan and Sandeep Sharma all have economy rates of under seven and have chipped in with useful wickets. Throw in the pace of Mitchell Johnson and the Punjab bowling lineup is shaping up nicely.

With three wins and five defeats to their name, it's getting close to crunch time for the Kolkata Knight Riders. After four successive defeats, the Knight Riders stemmed the flow courtesy of a much-needed win over Delhi on Wednesday.

Following a torrid start to the campaign, Gautam Gambhir put in a man-of-the-match performance against the Daredevils, and the skipper's form will be crucial if Kolkata are to clinch the fourth semi-final place.

Robin Uthappa has been a consistent presence at the top of the order, but the rest of the batting lineup has stuttered rather than exploded. Jacques Kallis and Manish Pandey have shown glimpses of form but offered little in the way of consistency.

If Kolkata are to spring a surprise in Cuttack, it will likely be down to their spinners. Sunil Narine and Shakib Al Hasan have combined for 18 wickets and will certainly pose a threat. Whether the rest of the attack has what it takes to face Glenn Maxwell and David Miller certainly remains a big question mark.


Key Players


Kings XI Punjab

If Glenn Maxwell is in the mood, then there's not an attack in the world that can stop him in this form of the game. The Aussie's brutal 90 from 38 balls took the game away from Chennai on Wednesday.

David Miller repeated the trick on Friday, smashing 66 from 29 balls against RCB.

If either gets going it could be a long afternoon for the Kolkata bowlers.


Kolkata Knight Riders

With 12 wickets at an average of 16.58 and an economy rate of 6.21, Sunil Narine has been the pick of the Kolkata attack.

He'll have to be at his wicket-taking best to blunt the threat posed by Punjab's big hitters.

Team News

Kings XI Punjab (from): George Bailey (c), Shaun Marsh, David Miller, Virender Sehwag, Cheteshwar Pujara, Gurkeerat Singh, Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Rishi Dhawan, Glenn Maxwell, Akshar Patel, Thisara Perera, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvinder Awana, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Beuran Hendricks, Mitchell Johnson, Murali Kartik, Anureet Singh, Karanveer Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Shivam Sharma

Kolkata Knight Riders (from): Gautam Gambhir (capt), Manvinder Bisla, Piyush Chawla, Pat Cummins, Debabrata Das, Jacques Kallis, Kuldeep Yadav, Chris Lynn, Sayan Mondal, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Veer Pratap Singh, Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Robin Uthappa, Vinay Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav