Royal Challengers vs. Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2014: Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Will TideySenior Manager, GlobalMay 9, 2014

LONDON, ENGLAND - JUNE 03:  David Miller of South Africa during the ICC Champions Trophy Warm Up match between South Africa and Pakistan at The Oval on June 3, 2013 in London, England.  (Photo by Christopher Lee/Getty Images)
Christopher Lee/Getty Images

Kings XI Punjab enjoyed a dominant 32-run victory against Royal Challengers Bangalore on Friday, strengthening their position atop the 2014 Indian Premier League table.

Kings XI have now won seven of eight matches this season, collecting 14 points to stand two ahead of second-placed Chennai Super Kings.

For the Royal Challengers, the loss was their second of the week and makes for a season record of just three wins from eight matches.

Bangalore won the toss and decided to take the field at their home M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Virender Sehwag and Mandeep Singh soon made them question that decision, however, by steering Kings XI to 60 before Singh was dismissed by Harshal Patel.

Sehwag went soon after, but that brought South African David Miller to the crease. He would go on to score 66 from 29 balls—a brutal knock that included eight fours and three sixes.

Australian Glenn Maxwell weighed in with 25, with Wriddhiman Saha and Mitchell Johnson also playing their part as Kings XI closed on 198-8 from their 20 overs.

Kings XI Punjab, 198-8 (20 overs)
Virender Sehwagc Virat Kohli b Yuzvendra Chahal3024125.0050
Mandeep Singhc Albie Morkel b Harshal Patel2115140.0020
Glenn Maxwellc Mitchell Starc b Yuzvendra Chahal2511227.2722
David Millerc Yuzvendra Chahal b Varun Aaron6629227.5883
George Baileyc Parthiv Patel b Albie Morkel1714.2800
Wriddhiman Sahac AB de Villiers b Harshal Patel1717100.0001
Mitchell JohnsonNOT OUT1612133.3311
Akshar Patelb Mitchell Starc2366.6600
Shivam Sharmab Mitchell Starc42200.0010
Lakshmipathy BalajiNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (nb 2, w 11, lb 2)1515
Mitchell Starc443210.759
Albie Morkel42015.0012
Varun Aaron43518.758
Harshal Patel356218.663
Yuzvendra Chahal42325.757
Yuvraj Singh119019.001

Bangalore's reply was ravaged early on by the bowling of Sandeep Sharma, who took two wickets in two balls in the third over and left the Royal Challengers reeling at 26-3 after removing their top three batsmen.

AB de Villiers provided some much-needed resistance, scoring 53 from 26 balls to bring some respectability to the innings. 

But it was the Kings XI bowlers who were winning the battle, with Shivam Sharma finishing with figures of 2-26 from his four overs and Sandeep Sharma taking 3-25 from his.

Bangalore finished their 20 overs on 166-9 and with Varun Aaron unbeaten on 17. It was ultimately a comfortable win for Kings XI Punjab.

Royal Challengers, 166-9 (20 overs)
Chris Gaylec Wriddhiman Saha b Sandeep Sharma4757.1410
Parthiv Patelc Mandeep Singh b Sandeep Sharma131492.8530
Virat Kohlic Wriddhiman Saha b Sandeep Sharma010.0000
Sachin Ranab Akshar Patel1816112.5021
AB de Villiersc Akshar Patel b Lakshmipathy Balaji5326203.8415
Yuvraj Singhc Virender Sehwag b Shivam Sharma31127.2700
Albie Morkelc George Bailey b Shivam Sharma168200.0002
Mitchell Starcc David Miller b Lakshmipathy Balaji2923126.0840
Harshal Patelc Wriddhiman Saha b Mitchell Johnson63200.0010
Varun AaronNOT OUT1711154.5411
Yuzvendra ChahalNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 4, lb 1)66
Sandeep Sharma42536.2515
Mitchell Johnson42516.2512
Lakshmipathy Balaji343214.336
Akshar Patel42215.507
Shivam Sharma42626.5012
Glenn Maxwell124024.000

Next up for the Royal Challengers are Rajasthan Royals on Sunday. Kings XI are also in action on Sunday, taking on Kolkata Knight Riders.