Hyderabad vs. Mumbai, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 11, 2014

Mumbai Indians batsman Kieron Pollard is bowled by Highveld Lions Sohail Tanveer, unseen, for 11 runs during the Champions League Twenty20 cricket match at the Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg, South Africa, Sunday, Oct. 14, 2012. (AP Photo/ Themba Hadebe)
Themba Hadebe/Associated Press

With the Indian Premier League now heading to the business end of the competition, every match matters. Hyderabad have won four out of their eight games, and they need to beat Mumbai Indians in order to strengthen their chance for a playoff place.


Venue: Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad

Date: Monday, May 12

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: AccuWeather forecasts a very hot day for Hyderabad with temperatures of up to 37 degrees Celsius expected. 



Hyderabad have had a very mixed bag of results throughout the competition and are fresh off two consecutive wins. Their most recent win over Delhi came via the Duckworth-Lewis method, with the Sunrisers claiming an eight-wicket victory.

The batsmen didn’t have much practice, getting only 4.2 overs under their belt as Hyderabad required 43 runs from five overs in the reduced chase. The bowling, however, was tight. Dale Steyn, Moises Henriques and Amit Mishra picked up two wickets apiece to help restrict Delhi to 143 in 20 overs.

It was special milestone for Mishra, who picked up his 100th wicket in the IPL. In an interview with IPLT20.com, the leg spinner revealed that he spends a lot of time analysing video footage to help his game.

I watch the videos of a batsman and see what kind of delivery he is not able to pick up. Then I try and bowl that particular type of ball more to that batsman and confuse him. And when you do that, the batsmen are a little late in playing, and I get the benefit of that.

Hyderabad have already faced Mumbai once before this season, winning by 15 runs. For Mishra, though, it's a chance to improve on his previous showing. He conceded 54 runs in four overs in that match, with Kieron Pollard taking a particular liking to him. Pollard scored 47 runs off 18 balls against the spinner the last time the two sides met. Pollard has been one of Mumbai's most prolific run-scorers with 203 runs at an average of 40.60.

Mumbai's record has been shaky, though, and they have won just two out of their eight games. Sunrisers should be favourites to beat Mumbai and strengthen their playoff chances. However, Mumbai do have players who can take the game away from any team. But since they've not managed to do that once this season, Hyderabad should clinch the victory.


Key players

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Moises Henriques has played just two games for Sunrisers, but he has been impressive. He's taken three wickets at an average of 12.33. With the support of Dale Steyn and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the Sunrisers' bowling can be quite fierce.


Mumbai Indians

Lasith Malinga's bowling prowess will be crucial for Mumbai. He has 13 wickets at an average of 14.46 this season and has taken a wicket once every 14.5 balls. With Hyderabad boasting a fierce batting line-up, his control up front will play a massive role if Mumbai are to be victorious.



Sunrisers Hyderabad 

Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Amit Mishra, Irfan Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Naman Ojha, Karan Sharma, Parvez Rasool, KL Rahul, Venugopal Rao, S Anirudha, Manpreet Juneja, Ricky Bhui, Amit Paunikar, P Parameswaran, Ashish Reddy, Chama Milind, Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques, Jason Holder and Brendan Taylor.


Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (capt.), Corey Anderson, Jasprit Bumrah, Marchant de Lange, Ben Dunk, Chidhambaram Gautam, Shreyas Gopal, Harbhajan Singh, Josh Hazlewood, Michael Hussey, Praveen Kumar, Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Pawan Suyal, Aditya Tare and Apoorv Wankhade.