Dive or No Dive? Vote on Incidents from Brazil and MLS

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Dive or No Dive? Vote on Incidents from Brazil and MLS
Jeff Vinnick/Getty Images

It's an all-Americas version of Dive or No Dive this week.

First, it's off to Major League Soccer where penalty decisions played a part in the outcomes of two matches. And finally we'll look at an incident in Brazil's Serie A that helped holders Cruzeiro win away to Atletico Paranaense.

All three decisions resulted in goals, and we want to know what you think: Did the players in question go down too easily or were they justified in winning their penalties?

Have your say after watching the clips below.

Exhibit A: Carlos Alvarez vs. Houston Dynamo

Ted S. Warren/Associated Press

Vote on Alvarez!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Chivas USA's woeful run of form continued over the weekend, but after only seven minutes against visiting Houston Dynamo, the California outfit did manage to take a surprise lead.

Carlos Alvarez, under pressure from Houston midfielder Brad David, went to ground inside the Dyanmo box, and moments later Mexican striker Erik Torres beat Tally Hall from 12 yards.

Houston were able to rally, however, and ended up winning 4-1.

As far as dives are concerned, this one seems about as obvious as they come. But what do you think?

Exhibit B: Darren Mattocks vs. San Jose Earthquakes

Jeff Vinnick/Getty Images

Vote on Mattocks!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Vancouver Whitecaps were 3-2 winners in a thrilling match at home to San Jose Earthquakes on Saturday.

Kekuta Manneh opened the scoring for the Canadian outfit after just 10 minutes, and nine minutes after that, Pedro Morales was sent to the spot after Darren Mattocks was judged to have been fouled by Victor Bernardez just inside San Jose's 18-yard box.

Mattocks, however, almost seemed to slip on the surface as he went down. Was it incidental, a foul or a dive?

Morales would score again in the second half as Vancouver managed to hold off a San Jose fight-back.

Exhibit C: Alisson vs. Atletico Paranaense

Bruno Spada/Getty Images

Vote on Alisson!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Brazilian champions Cruzeiro prevailed by a 3-2 scoreline away to Atletico Paranaense on Saturday, but with just 15 minutes left on the clock, they still trailed their hosts by a goal.

That changed when Atletico defender Nataniel Pimienta was shown a yellow card for a foul in the box on Cruzeiro midfielder Allison, and Elierce Barbosa de Souza's successful penalty conversion restored level terms.

This one didn't look a dive as Pimienta threw himself into the tackle, but once again we want you to have your say.

Eight minutes after the penalty, Marcelo Moreno scored the winner for the guests.

Follow B/R on Facebook

World Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.