Delhi vs. Kolkata, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 6, 2014

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir is bowled out by Chennai Super Kings' bowler Ben Hilfenhaus, not seen, during their Indian Premier League (IPL) final cricket match in Chennai, India, Sunday, May 27, 2012.  (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

The Delhi Daredevils have struggled this season and have managed just two wins in seven games. Kolkata Knight Riders have the exact same record and both teams form part of a group of teams scrapping for fourth place.


Venue: Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Date: Tuesday, May 7

Start time: 11:30 a.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: It's going to be a very hot day in Delhi, with temperatures reach up to 41 degrees Celsius, according to AccuweatherIt won't cool down much for the start of the game, with temperatures only starting to drop towards 7 p.m.



Delhi have lost their last two games by seven and eight wickets, respectively. Despite posting a solid total of 178-5 in their last outing against Chennai, their bowlers simply couldn't defend and they flopped to defeat.

Their two wins came against Mumbai and Kolkata, so at least there is some impetus favouring the home team. When the two teams last met, they played in Dubai, with Delhi claiming a four-wicket win. 

JP Duminy was the star of the batting show in that match with 52 off 35 to help Delhi chase down 167. The South African has had a decent season thus far and tops the run-scorers chart for Delhi.

Duminy has accumulated 240 runs at an average of 80.00 and is one of just two batsmen to average over 30.00 for the team this season.

Kolkata have not managed a win in their last four games. They have batted second in all four and have struggled to build an innings almost every single time. They came close to a win in their last match on Monday, falling 10 runs short against Rajasthan. However, Delhi are probably favourites by an inch. 

Kolkata's loss against Rajasthan was particularly disappointing. They managed to get to 121-0 before collapsing, losing six wickets in eight balls.

Captain Gautam Gambhir has admitted that the bowling unit needs some work. He was quoted by as saying:

"We have to move on," he said. "We still have eight games left. We still need to work on bowling as apart from Sunil Narine and Shakib Al Hasan, others need to take the responsibility."

Uncredited/Associated Press

Gambhir's opposite number, Kevin Pietersen, has not had the best season with Delhi. In the four games he has played, his top score is just 26* and he was dismissed for a duck in his previous outing. Pietersen still has a point to prove and there is no better place to do so than on home turf. 

Expect a tough game for both teams as the competition heads toward the business end where every result matters. 


Key players

Delhi Daredevils

JP Duminy has had a very fruitful season and is the fourth-highest run scorer overall thus far. Not only does he bat, but he is also more than useful with the ball. He's not taken any wickets in the 14 overs he has bowled, but he does keep things very tight. His economy rate is sitting at 6.64, the lowest of all Delhi's bowlers.


Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajanish Kakade/Associated Press/Associated Press

Kolkata have many talented individuals amongst them, but they haven't quite stepped up as a unit. One of their most important players is Shakib Al Hasan. With the bat, he averages 40.50 this season and has also picked up five wickets at an average of 25.40. 



Delhi Daredevils

Kevin Pietersen (capt.), Mayank Agarwal, Dinesh Karthik, Milin Kumar, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Murali Vijay, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Jayant Yadav, Siddharth Kaul, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Sharma, HS Sharaf, Rahul Shukla, Jaidev Unadkat, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Ross Taylor, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Wayne Parnell.


Kolkata Knight Riders

Gautam Gambhir (capt), Manvinder Bisla, Piyush Chawla, Pat Cummins, Debabrata Das, Jacques Kallis, Kuldeep Yadav, Chris Lynn, Sayan Mondal, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Veer Pratap Singh, Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Robin Uthappa, Vinay Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav.