Mumbai vs. Bangalore, IPL 2014: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 5, 2014

Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore plays a shot during their IPL cricket match against Delhi Daredevils, in New Delhi, India, Thursday, May 17, 2012. (AP Photo/ Saurabh Das)
Saurabh Das/Associated Press

Bottom-of-the-table Mumbai Indians square off against a Bangalore team who have had some mixed fortunes in this year's IPL.


Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Date: Tuesday, May 6

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: AccuWeather predicts hot and hazy weather for Tuesday's match. Temperatures will reach up to 35 degrees Celsius during the day and dip down to 32 in the evening. 



Mumbai finally managed their first win in the tournament last week and it came against the strongest team in the competition, Kings XI Punjab. It wasn't exactly the most convincing display, but thanks to a few mid-thirty scores from three Mumbai batsmen, the men in blue managed to chase down 169 and get over the line. 

It was a match that went to the final over, with Kieron Pollard and Aditya Tare seeing their team home. For Tare, it was good to be back on home turf with the crowd support in full voice. He was quoted in an interview with as saying:

[We are] extremely happy to open our account on the points table. It is great to be back at the Wankhede Stadium, which was our fortress the last season. The presence of the young kids was a big boost. They were absolutely vibrant and buzzing throughout the four hours of the game. That made us know that there is a lot of support behind us.

At the other end of the spectrum, Bangalore Royal Challengers have had their struggles. They started off the competition looking strong, but then had a few blips. Those slip ups included being bowled out for 70 against the Rajasthan Royals. Against Hyderabad on Sunday, though, they found some momentum in AB de Villiers. Chasing 156 for victory, De Villiers took 24 runs off Dale Steyn in the 19th over to help Bangalore seal a four-wicket win.

De Villiers ended unbeaten on 89 off just 41 balls. It was the kind of innings only De Villiers can play. The South African is one of the most innovative players in world cricket at the moment ,and he proved that once again with that knock.

Teammate Harsha Patel was delighted with De Villiers' performance and told that the South African batsman is a freak:

What do I say! AB is a freak, man. What he can do on the cricket field, I don’t think anyone else can do that. I have no words to describe his brilliance. I think he is the most difficult batsman to bowl to. To good batsmen, if you bowl decent yorkers or good deliveries, you can get away. But to AB, if you bowl a perfect yorker, you can still go for six. You are never sure where to bowl to him. You can only bowl and hope for the best.

The match is perfectly set up to be a thriller. Both sides have some momentum and Mumbai have the added impetus of their home support. As is the case with most IPL fixtures, it's going to be a crazy ride.


Key players

Mumbai Indians

Themba Hadebe/Associated Press

Kieron Pollard has been Mumbai's most successful batsman. He averages 53.33 and has accumulated 160 runs in six games. He's had two good games on the trot now, and if he can use that as a springboard to get him back to his destructive best he'll be crucial for Mumbai.


Royal Challengers Bangalore

After AB de Villiers' fireworks over the weekend, it's hard to pick anybody else as a key player. He's raced to 162 runs at an an average of 54.00. De Villiers has had a few knocks and looked somewhat stagnant, but might just have woken up from his slumber.



Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (c), Corey Anderson, Jasprit Bumrah, Marchant deLange, Ben Dunk, Chidhambaram Gautam (wk), Shreyas Gopal,Harbhajan Singh, Josh Hazlewood, Michael Hussey, Zaheer Khan,Lasith Malinga, Sushant Marathe, Pragyan Ojha, Kieron Pollard,Ambati Rayudu (wk), Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Pawan Suyal,Aditya Tare (wk) and Apoorv Wankhade.


Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Virat Kohli (capt), Parthiv Patel, Tanmay Mishra, Yogesh Takawale, Vijay Zol, Yuvraj Singh, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Sachin Rana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shadab Jakati, Sandeep Warrier, Harshal Patel, Nic Maddinson, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Muttiah Muralitharan and Ravi Rampaul.