Biggest World Football Blunders of the Weekend: Atletico Slip, Filipe Own Goal

Karl Matchett@@karlmatchettFeatured ColumnistMay 5, 2014

Biggest World Football Blunders of the Weekend: Atletico Slip, Filipe Own Goal

0 of 5

    Welcome to our latest instalment of world football's biggest blunders, where we've collected a handful of some of the latest weird and wacky instances from around the game.

    This time, we're rounding up the most bizarre and important own goals from some of the top leagues in Europe, taking a trip Stateside for a pitchside incident and looking to a minor league for some very odd in-game happenings.

    Feel free to comment below with any others which might have been included! 

5. Title Hopes Paused by Filipe's Own Goal

1 of 5

    Atletico Madrid's charge toward a La Liga title took a sudden downward turn at the weekend, losing 2-0 against Levante.

    A win would have meant they needed just two more points to secure the league title—but Filipe Luis saw a corner bounce into the back of the Atleti net off his chest in the first half.

    The left-back might not have felt so bad about it if his team had scored, but even without a second Levante strike, his own goal would have cost them the game.

    As it is, Barcelona and Real Madrid only drew, so Atletico remain top. 

4. Defender or Referee?

2 of 5

    There's a fair portion of blame to go around here.

    Firstly, Doncaster Rovers defender James Husband is off-balance and lunges in with a tackle to commit a foul.

    Secondly, the contact appears to be just outside the box, but the referee awards a penalty.

    Either way, Husband's error of judgement came with just 15 minutes to go—and the resulting penalty, which was converted, sent Doncaster down on goal difference from the Championship.

    Had they not conceded that penalty and drawn 0-0, instead of losing 1-0, they would have stayed up. 

3. No Goalkeeper, No Problem

3 of 5

    Our most bizarre instance of the weekend occurred in the Estonian second division.

    Bottom of the table with a points tally of minus-one, Puuma were heavily beaten 6-0 by Vandra, with most of the goals coming in the second half.

    After the fifth went in, the goalkeeper simply decided to wander off and not play any more.

    A defender quickly "took his place" in goal—only to be sent off for handball when he slid in to prevent a forward scoring. Vandra netted the resulting penalty for 6-0.

    Perhaps somebody should have told the defender he couldn't pick up the ball after a pass-back, anyway. 

2. The Hazards of Pitchside Reporting

4 of 5

    Over to MLS now, where pitchside reporter Kelli Tennant got a close-up of the perils of her job.

    This came a couple of weeks back before the Whitecaps-Galaxy fixture, which ended 2-2 after a late equaliser for the home side.

    Standing behind the goal during the warm-up, the reporter took a shot to the back of the head—but kept her composure better than the striker of the ball, apparently, as she continued her report.

1. Great Finish, Wrong End

5 of 5

    Our top blunder comes from the Bundesliga, where Nils Petersen was unlucky/accurate/impressive/foolish enough to net a stunning, curling, first-time volley into the top corner...of his own net.

    He managed to hook and loop the ball over his own goalkeeper, perfectly placed just out of reach, to set Werder Bremen on their way to a 3-0 defeat at Mainz.

    Clearly his manager wasn't impressed. The attacker was hauled off and substituted at half-time.