NASCAR at Talladega 2014 Results: Winner, Standings, Highlights and Reaction

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NASCAR at Talladega 2014 Results: Winner, Standings, Highlights and Reaction
Sean Gardner/Getty Images

In one of the wildest NASCAR races of the year thus far, Denny Hamlin and the No. 11 car took the checkered flag and won the 2014 Aaron's 499 Sprint Cup Series race at the always unpredictable Talladega Superspeedway.

Hamlin had raced at the front of the field all day (led 12 laps) and managed to steal the show by jumping in the right line to the lead on the final restart. The caution waived on the last lap, but he had already earned his spot as the winner.   

As for the rest of the top five, Greg Biffle finished second, Clint Bowyer was third, Brian Vickers finished fourth and AJ Allmendinger rounded out the top finishers.

Here is the entire finishing order for Sunday’s race at Talladega.

Full 2014 Aaron's 499 at Talladega Results
Finish Driver
1 Denny Hamlin
2 Greg Biffle
3 Clint Bowyer
4 Brian Vickers
5 A J Allmendinger
6 Paul Menard
7 Kevin Harvick
8 Kasey Kahne
9 Kyle Larson
10 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
11 Landon Cassill
12 Kyle Busch
13 Aric Almirola
14 Casey Mears
15 Austin Dillon
16 Michael Annett
17 Martin Truex Jr.
18 Ryan Newman
19 Marcos Ambrose
20 Josh Wise
21 Cole Whitt
22 Danica Patrick
23 Jimmie Johnson
24 Terry Labonte
25 Michael Waltrip
26 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
27 Justin Allgaier
28 Alex Bowman
29 Jamie McMurray
30 Carl Edwards
31 Ryan Truex
32 Joey Logano
33 Kurt Busch
34 Reed Sorenson
35 David Ragan
36 Michael McDowell
37 Matt Kenseth
38 Brad Keselowski
39 Jeff Gordon
40 David Gilliland
41 Trevor Bayne
42 Brian Scott
43 Tony Stewart


Race weekend kicked off with NASCAR’s new style of qualifying that featured a group of Richard Childress Racing drivers and affiliate cars running together. The group’s approach to the knockout qualifying format resulted in the first three rows being comprised of RCR-affiliated cars.

As with every Talladega race, the lead didn’t last long and the track soon began shuffling drivers continuously. Whether it was Joey Logano and the No. 22 car, Biffle and the No. 16 or one of the other top drivers who managed to string together a few consecutive laps led, the restrictor-plate race managed to even the playing field.

There were few cautions through the first 100 laps (Brad Keselowski and the No. 2 car did bring out the yellow flag early, but it was a one-car accident), and that resulted in several rounds of green-flag pitstops.

Through the first 100 laps, there were 25 lead changes.

Before Sunday’s race, Dale Earnhardt Jr. spoke to Michael Vega of The Boston Globe about his team’s desire to improve his overall performance this season:

We as a team, I think, improved our emphasis on our plate cars to be able to improve their performance. I think that started to show in the last 12-16 months. When [crew chief] Steve [Letarte] and I first started working together our focus was more on improving ourselves as a whole.

We really didn’t focus on the plate stuff as much as we needed to improve everywhere. We had to kind of put our emphasis on the plate tracks on hold for a while to try to get our team in the right direction. I think that started to happen to where we were running well enough everywhere [that] we could start to put a little more care and preparation into our plate track cars. That is definitely showing the results.

The race remained relatively calm—a term scarcely used at Talladega—for another long green-flag stretch, but on Lap 135, chaos broke loose. After Keselowski got loose in front of the field, he collected 11 other cars in a huge accident.

Top drivers like Trevor Bayne, Matt Kenseth, Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart and Paul Menard were involved in the wreck.

Gordon commented on the crash during the Fox broadcast, via

The race once again heated up as the laps began ticking away. On Lap 176, Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 car were involved in another big crash that included defending race champion David Ragan, Kurt Busch, Logano and others.

WWE legend Shawn Michaels talked about Sunday's race:

The late caution brought the field back together and made for an exciting run to the checkered flag. Another crash with just six laps left (the seventh yellow flag of the day) once again reshuffled the field and opened the door for Hamlin's win.

2014 NASCAR Sprint Series Standings

2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Standings
Position Driver Points Behind
1 Jeff Gordon 347
2 Matt Kenseth 344 3
3 Kyle Busch 343 4
4 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 328 19
5 Carl Edwards 328 19
6 Joey Logano 305 42
7 Jimmie Johnson 304 43
8 Greg Biffle 300 47
9 Ryan Newman 299 48
10 Brian Vickers 297 50
11 Brad Keselowski 294 53
12 Denny Hamlin 292 55


*Updated as they become official.

After another great race at Talladega Superspeedway, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule moves on as drivers and their teams head to Kansas Speedway next week for the 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefiting Special Operations Warrior Foundation.

The next race will take place on Saturday, May 10, at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised on Fox.

Matt Kenseth was the 2013 spring race champion and also won the pole for that event.

Hamlin will be traveling to Kansas this week with momentum on his side. Despite struggles early in the season, he drives stronger as the season progresses and will do the same as the Sprint Cup Series hits its summer stretch.

With fewer cautions expected at next week’s race, look for drivers like Johnson, Gordon, Earnhardt Jr. and Biffle to contend for a victory at Kansas under the lights Saturday night.

*All stats via

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.