Kentucky Derby Results 2014: Winning Time, Payouts List and Video Highlights

Donald WoodFeatured ColumnistMay 4, 2014

In this image taken with a fisheye lens, jockey Victor Espinoza rides California Chrome to win the 140th running of the Kentucky Derby horse race at Churchill Downs Saturday, May 3, 2014, in Louisville, Ky. (AP Photo/Matt Slocum)
Matt Slocum/Associated Press

The 2014 Kentucky Derby was one of the wildest two minutes in sports, and the celebration surrounding California Chrome’s incredible performance and the rest of the results has fans excited about the second and third legs of the Triple Crown.

It’s around this time each year that the frenzy around horse racing really picks up. After watching such a dominant performance, the hope we could be witnessing history has hardcore and casual fans alike excited about the possibilities.

Here is California Chrome’s winning time, the full finishing order, payouts list and video highlights from Saturday’s main event.


2014 Kentucky Derby Results
Pos. Post Horse Jockey Trainer Time/Lengths
1 5 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 2:03.66
2 17 Commanding Curve Shaun Bridgmohan Dallas Stewart 1 3/4
3 4 Danza Joe Bravo Todd Pletcher 3
4 20 Wicked Strong Rajiv Maragh Jimmy Jerkens 5 3/4
5 6 Samraat Jose Ortiz Rick Violette Jr. 5 3/4
6 12 Dance With Fate Corey Nakatani Peter Eurton 6 1/4
7 19 Ride On Curlin Calvin Borel Billy Gowan 6 3/4
8 14 Medal Count Robby Albarado Dale Romans 7 1/2
9 13 Chitu Martin Garcia Bob Baffert 8
10 7 We Miss Artie Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 8 1/4
11 8 General A Rod Joel Rosario Mike Maker 8 1/4
12 16 Intense Holiday John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 9
13 18 Candy Boy Gary Stevens John Sadler 11 3/4
14 3 Uncle Sigh Irad Ortiz Jr. Gary Contessa 15
15 15 Tapiture Ricardo Santana Jr. Steve Asmussen 16 1/4
16 2 Harry's Holiday Corey Lanerie Mike Maker 22 1/2
17 9 Vinceremos Joe Rococo Jr. Todd Pletcher 28
18 10 Wildcat Red Luis Saez Jose Garoffalo 28 1/4
19 1 Vicar's In Trouble Rosie Napravnik Mike Maker 38 1/4
11 Hoppertunity Mike Smith Bob Baffert SCR
via NBC broadcast


Here are the payouts for Saturday's race:

Kentucky Derby Payouts
Place Horse Owner Winnings
1 California Chrome Steve and Carolyn Coburn & Perry and Denise Martin $1,417,800
2 Commanding Curve West Point Thoroughbreds $400,000
3 Danza Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners $200,000
4 Wicked Strong Centennial Farms $100,000
5 Samraat My Meadowview Farm $60,000


2014 Kentucky Derby Recap

After he won four consecutive races coming into Saturday—he won the Santa Anita Derby, San Felipe Stakes, California Cup Derby and King Glorious Stakes—California Chrome’s success shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone.

Despite the horse’s elite performance in the Kentucky Derby, he is still the offspring of an $8,000 mare (Love the Chase) and a $2,000 stallion (Lucky Pulpit). No one would have expected California Chrome to be a Derby winner.

Now the horse and his team are favorites for the Triple Crown.

The excitement surrounding California Chrome’s victory had his team buzzing, and the Kentucky Derby's official Twitter account shared veteran trainer Art Sherman’s response:

As excited as Sherman was for the victory, Darren Rovell of ESPN reports that owner Steve Coburn made a risky decision, but it has paid off exponentially:

Now that California Chrome is well known by every horse racing fan in the world, the focus has shifted to the Preakness Stakes on Saturday, May 17.

After utterly dominating the field with a strong start and an even stronger run to the front, this horse will be the favorite in the second leg of the Triple Crown.

The Belmont Stakes is the third piece to the puzzle, but if California Chrome can win the Preakness, there is no doubt he has the power and speed to be the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.


*Stats via