Kentucky Derby 2014 Post Positions: Latest Odds, Historical Stats for Each Slot

Sean ODonnellContributor IIIMay 2, 2014

LOUISVILLE, KY - MAY 01:  California Chrome runs on the track during the morning training for the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on May 1, 2014 in Louisville, Kentucky.  (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The 2014 Kentucky Derby already threw us a curveball after the scratch of Hoppertunity on Thursday.

Not only does the absence of Hoppertunity change the field, but it also changes post positions and odds as well.

This shift really changes strategies for trainers, jockeys and betters, alike. Shifts in post positions will change how many horses run the race and will affect how wagers are placed on the remaining field.

Even though it's not yet May 3, the Kentucky Derby has already brought about a flurry of excitement.

Here's how the current post positions and odds look for the impending Run for the Roses:

2014 Kentucky Derby Post Positions and Odds
1Vicar's In Trouble20-1
2Harry's Holiday50-1
3Uncle Sigh30-1
5California Chrome5-2
7We Miss Artie50-1
8General A Rod15-1
10Wildcat Red15-1
11Dance With Fate20-1
13Medal Count20-1
15Intense Holiday8-1
16Commanding Curve50-1
17Candy Boy15-1
18Ride On Curlin15-1
19Wicked Strong6-1
20Pablo Del Monte50-1

The shifts in post positions after the scratch of Hoppertunity were favorable for some horses; however, due to the history of the race, others were not so fortunate.

Since Hoppertunity was originally slated in the 11th position, only the outside positions shifted after Pablo Del Monte took over the 20th position.

This move was rather favorable to Wicked Strong. Moving from 20 to 19 bodes well for the horse, as a smaller amount of ground has to be covered to get closer to the rail.

Although, Candy Boy may not be so happy with the shift due to the history of the event. The horse now sits in the 17th position. This doesn't seem so terrible; however, when looking back in time, winning from there is a rather daunting task:

Kentucky Derby Post Position Winners (since 1930)
PostNo. of WinnersMost Recent
181986, Ferdinand
271978, Affirmed
351998, Real Quiet
452010, Super Saver
582003, Funny Cide
621993, Sea Hero
762007, Street Sense
882009, Mine That Bird
941972, Riva Ridge
1092005, Giacomo
1121998, Winning Colors
1231971, Canonero II
1332004, Smarty Jones
1421961, Carry Back
1532000, Fusaichi Pegasus
1652013, Orb
1811982, Gato Del Sol
1912012, I'll Have Another
2012008, Big Brown

The 17th position is the only one that has never yielded a Kentucky Derby winner. Call it superstition or just dumb luck, but that simply doesn't bode well for Candy Boy.

Moving back to Wicked Strong's slide to the 19th position, 2012's winner, I'll Have Another, won from that same post.

In fact, although starting closer to the rail has been more successful in the past, recent history shows an outward trend.

With I'll Have another winning from 19 in 2012 and Orb winning from 16 in 2013, starting wide doesn't seem like such a detriment anymore.

Of course, the fifth position needs to be accounted for here, since favorite California Chrome will be starting there on Saturday. Since 1930, this position has yielded the second-most winners with a total of eight.

California Chrome has been absolutely dominant this year and could increase that number to tie the 10th position with nine.

The stage is set at Churchill downs, and this year's race features a very strong field. The 2014 Run for the Roses should certainly be one for the ages.