Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL: TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistMay 2, 2014

Royal Challengers Bangalore Skipper Virat Kohli, second right, celebrates the wicket of Deccan Chargers' Daniel Harris during an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match in Bangalore, India, Sunday, May 6, 2012. (AP Photo)
Uncredited/Associated Press

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad have been consistently inconsistent in this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL) so far and face each other for the first time this year.

Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Date: Sunday, May 4

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: According to, Bangalore will be a little on the cloudy side, but temperatures will still be high and may peak at 38 degrees Celsius.



Last time out, Bangalore tasted defeat once again as they lost to Kings XI Punjab by five wickets.

The Royal Challengers batted first, but despite a fast start, they struggled to mount much of a total and closed at 124-8 from their 20 overs.

In reply, Punjab made the chase look relatively easy, although two wickets apiece from Varun Aaron and Yuzvendra Chahal made things a little tougher.

Meanwhile, Hyderabad were victorious over the Mumbai Indians in their last match by a margin of 15 runs.

Batting first, Sunrisers made 172-5, thanks in large part to 65 from David Warner and 46 from Lokesh Rahul.

In reply, things had looked dicey for Hyderabad, as Kieron Pollard made 78, but with little other support, the Indians were held to just 157-7 from their innings.

For Hyderabad, Dale Steyn, Irfan Pathan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar took two wickets apiece.

With these teams having enjoyed differing fortunes last time around, they will both be desperate for victory.


Team News

Royal Challengers Bangalore (from): Virat Kohli (capt), Parthiv Patel, Tanmay Mishra, Yogesh Takawale, Vijay Zol, Yuvraj Singh, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Sachin Rana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shadab Jakati, Sandeep Warrier, Harshal Patel, Nic Maddinson, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ravi Rampaul

Sunrisers Hyderabad (from): Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Amit Mishra, Irfan Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Naman Ojha, Karan Sharma, Parvez Rasool, KL Rahul, Venugopal Rao, S Anirudha, Manpreet Juneja, Ricky Bhui, Amit Paunikar, P Parameswaran, Ashish Reddy, Chama Milind, Dale Steyn, Darren Sammy, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Moises Henriques, Jason Holder, Brendan Taylor


Key Players

Chris Gayle

Still one of the most explosive batsmen in Twenty20 cricket, Chris Gayle holds the key for the Royal Challengers.

If he can get off to a fast start, Bangalore will be tough to stop.


David Warner

A crucial member of Hyderabad’s top order, David Warner has shown a great deal of ability in T20 cricket.

If he can find some form again and continue hitting boundaries, Sunrisers will be confident of further success.