Super Kings vs. Kolkata, IPL: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMay 1, 2014

Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir is bowled out by Chennai Super Kings' bowler Ben Hilfenhaus, not seen, during their Indian Premier League (IPL) final cricket match in Chennai, India, Sunday, May 27, 2012.  (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

Venue: JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi

Date: Friday, May 2

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan) and Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: AccuWeather forecasts highs of 39 degrees Celsius during the day, cooling to about 33 degrees Celsius in the evening. 



The Chennai Super Kings have had a good start to their campaign, losing just one game so far. They also have two batsmen among the leading scorers in Darren Smith and Brendon McCullum and Mohit Sharma is also joint-second in the wicket-takers list. Overall, things are looking good. 

Kolkata Knight Riders have been less consistent, losing three and winning two of the games they have played so far. They lost the last match they played through a Super Over, after scores were tied with Rajasthan. KKR were fairly underwhelming in that game, with Morne Morkel in particular having a mare—conceding 40 runs off his four overs. Gautam Gambhir finally managed to find some form, though, scoring 45 off 44, following torrid spell that included three consecutive ducks. 

The switch to India offers a fresh start for both teams, but it also comes with a fresh set of challenges. With so many players having moved teams, getting used to conditions all over again will be the first challenge. The fast bowlers will have a much harder time on Indian surfaces and will have to quickly adapt their lines and lengths. The batsmen and the spinners will both be aided a little bit more on Indian surfaces, so this match will make for an interesting contest between Sunil Narine and Chennai's big hitters.

It's probably too early to start talking or thinking about the play-off places, but Chennai are one of the teams putting their hands up. Kolkata have the talent to make it too, but they will have to fire as a unit to do so. 

Chennai have certainly shown more BMT than Kolkata, something that enhances their favour just a bit. Kolkata have batted second twice, losing once—by 23 runs against Kings XI Punjab—and taking the other match to a Super Over. Chennai have batted second twice, and won both their games by five wickets or more. 

With teams now more settled with their combinations, it's just the change in conditions that presents a challenge. As has been the case for most of the IPL, there should be yet another cracker on the cards.


Key players

Chennai Super Kings

Mohit Sharma has had a good run with the ball. He's taken eight wickets in five games at an average of 13.25. Conditions will be very different in India, but if he can continue where he left off in the UAE, Chennai will be in a good position. 


Kolkata Knight Riders

Rajanish Kakade/Associated Press

Sunil Narine's exploits go without saying, but it's the batsmen who need to step it up a gear for KKR. Manish Pandey started off well with 64 against Mumbai and 48 against Delhi. He has slumped somewhat since then, but he is still the leading run scorer for the franchise. Pandey has 144 runs at an average of 28.80 and will be a very important player. 


Chennai Super Kings

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Faf du Plessis, Mithun Manhas, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Smith, John Hastings, Vijay Shankar, Baba Aparajith, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Brendon McCullum, Samuel Badree, Pawan Negi, R Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Ishwar Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, Matt Henry and Ronit More.


Kolkata Knight Riders

Gautam Gambhir (capt), Manvinder Bisla, Piyush Chawla, Pat Cummins, Debabrata Das, Jacques Kallis, Kuldeep Yadav, Chris Lynn, Sayan Mondal, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Veer Pratap Singh, Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Robin Uthappa, Vinay Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav.