Dive or No Dive? Vote on Thierry Henry and an All-MLS Selection of Incidents

Jerrad Peters@@jerradpetersWorld Football Staff WriterApril 29, 2014

HARRISON, NJ - APRIL 16: Thierry Henry #14 of New York Red Bulls reacts duirng th egame against the Philadelphia Union at Red Bull Arena on April 16, 2014 in Harrison, New Jersey. Red Bulls defeated the Union 2-1.  (Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images)
Mike Stobe/Getty Images

All three incidents in this instalment of Dive or No Dive occurred stateside within the last 10 days.

All three resulted in a penalty; all three resulted in a goal.

But was the referee correct in pointing to the spot on each occasion? We want you to decide.

After watching the clips below, have your say on whether the player in question took a dive or was fouled inside the area.

Exhibit A: Thierry Henry vs. Houston Dynamo

New York Red Bulls were already cruising to a comfortable victory when Bradley Wright-Phillips stepped up to the spot to complete his hat-trick.

Thierry Henry, who had also found the back of the net earlier in the match, had gone to ground under pressure from a Houston midfielder and earned a penalty for his side.

Replays seemed to show the former Arsenal and Barcelona striker had been fouled from behind, but what do you think?

For what it’s worth, Wright-Phillips converted his penalty, got his hat-trick and helped New York seal a 4-0 win.

Exhibit B: Justin Meram vs. New York Red Bulls

Columbus Crew took a late, first-half lead at home to New York Red Bulls on Saturday when Jairo Arrieta Obando converted from the spot following Kosuke Kimura’s alleged foul on Justin Meram.

Both players were rushing into the box to attack a cross from the left when Meram went down, and while it looked as though there was only incidental contact, the referee nevertheless pointed to the spot.

The match would end in a 1-1 draw, however, following Bradley Wright-Phillips’ equaliser shortly after the hour mark.

Exhibit C: Kevin Alston vs. Chicago Fire

Quincy Amarikwa’s 16th-minute goal had spotted Chicago Fire a lead on visiting New England Revolution on April 19 when the guests were handed a lifeline by the referee.

Kevin Alston, having charged after a loose ball, had gone to ground under pressure from Patrick Nyarko, and Lee Nguyen restored level terms from the spot.

This one’s iffy, as it looked as though Nyarko threw himself at Alston, but could the New York midfielder have stayed on his feet?

Related

    Live: Belgium vs. Panama

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Live: Belgium vs. Panama

    Barry Glendenning
    via the Guardian

    'We Were Broke. Not Just Poor' — Lukaku's Epic Struggle

    World Football logo
    World Football

    'We Were Broke. Not Just Poor' — Lukaku's Epic Struggle

    The Players' Tribune
    via The Players' Tribune

    Video Ref Is Bloody Exciting as Sweden Beat Korea

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Video Ref Is Bloody Exciting as Sweden Beat Korea

    Rory Marsden
    via Bleacher Report

    Viral Ronaldo Bust Replaced — Sculptor Devastated

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Viral Ronaldo Bust Replaced — Sculptor Devastated

    Kelly Naqi
    via Bleacher Report