Kings XI Punjab vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL: TV Info and Preview

Chris Teale@@chris_tealeFeatured ColumnistApril 26, 2014

Kings XI Punjab Parvinder Awana , third left,celebrates the wicket of Delhi Daredevils' Ross Taylor,unseen,  during an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match, in New Delhi, India , Tuesday, May 15, 2012.  (AP Photo/ Manish Swarup)
Manish Swarup

Having both suffered differing fortunes over the weekend, Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore clash on Monday in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium

Date: Monday, April 28

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: According to, Dubai should be very sunny and warm, with temperatures peaking at 38 degrees Celsius.



Kings XI Punjab are the last team remaining with a perfect winning record in this year’s IPL after they defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders by 23 runs last time out.

Punjab batted first but made just 132-9 from their 20 overs, with only Virender Sehwag scoring more than 30 runs.

However, Kolkata were stifled in response by Punjab’s bowlers, with Sandeep Sharma and Akshar Patel particularly impressive to keep them to 109 all out.

Meanwhile, Bangalore went down to an embarrassing defeat against the Rajasthan Royals in their previous match to lose by six wickets.

The Royal Challengers batted first but could muster just 70 all out, with only three batsmen reaching double figures.

In response, Mitchell Starc took two wickets, but the Royals had few problems in reaching their target with seven overs to spare.

The points table is starting to take shape in this year’s IPL, and both teams will be hoping to add to their wins so far to stake their claim on a place in the playoffs.


Team News

Kings XI Punjab (from): George Bailey (capt), Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, Rishi Dhawan, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhiman Saha, Cheteshwar Pujara, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Beuran Hendricks, Thisara Perera, Gurkeerat Singh, Murali Kartik, Sandeep Sharma, Mandeep Singh, Akshar Patel, Parvinder Awana, Anureet Singh, Shardul Thakur, Karanveer Singh, Shivam Sharma, Manan Vohra, David Miller.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (from): Virat Kohli (capt), Parthiv Patel, Tanmay Mishra, Yogesh Takawale, Vijay Zol, Yuvraj Singh, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Sachin Rana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shadab Jakati, Sandeep Warrier, Harshal Patel, Nic Maddinson, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ravi Rampaul


Key Players

Mitchell Johnson

With his fortunes now much-improved after his demolition of England during the Ashes, Mitchell Johnson is back with a vengeance.

His efforts with the new ball will be crucial in restricting opponents and preventing them from gathering early momentum.


Virat Kohli

India’s No. 1 batsman in all forms, Virat Kohli, retains a very important role with Royal Challengers Bangalore in the top order.

Still in form, he will be looking to carry on with a successful start so far and pile up more runs.