Delhi Daredevils vs. Mumbai Indians, IPL: Date, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistApril 25, 2014

Mumbai Indians’ Kieron Pollard, center right, Sachin Tendulkar, center left, and Harbhajan Singh, second right, celebrate the dismissal of Kolkata Knight Riders’ Gautam Gambhir during an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match in Mumbai, India, Wednesday, May 16, 2012. (AP Photo/Rajanish Kakade)
Rajanish Kakade

In a game between two Indian Premier League (IPL) sides that have struggled so far, the Delhi Daredevils and the Mumbai Indians face each other on Sunday.

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium

Date: Sunday, April 27

Start time: 11.30 a.m. BST

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: According to, Sharjah should be mostly sunny with temperatures reaching a high of 38 degrees Celsius.



Delhi have had real issues this year in the IPL and find themselves second-bottom in the table after having played four matches.

They came close to victory in their latest game against Sunrises Hyderabad, but in the end, they fell just short by four runs.

The Daredevils bowlers struggled to contain their opponents first up, with Hyderabad racking up 184-1 in their 20 overs thanks to two superb knocks from Australians Aaron Finch and David Warner.

In reply, openers Murali Vijay and Quinton de Kock combined for a partnership of 99, but the rest of the Daredevils innings fell away alarmingly even with Kevin Pietersen back.

In the end, they fell just short as their innings closed on 180-1, meaning they were defeated by a very narrow margin and find themselves increasingly adrift near the foot of the table.

Mumbai, meanwhile, were comfortably defeated in their last match by seven wickets by the Chennai Super Kings to stay bottom of the table without a win in 2014.

The Indians batted first but could make just 141-7 from their 20 overs with only captain Rohit Sharma passing 50 runs.

In reply, Harbhajan Singh took two wickets, but Mumbai could not stop Chennai marching to a very comfortable victory.

Both teams have endured indifferent starts to this year’s IPL, so they will be determined to get back on track with a win here.


Team News

Delhi Daredevils (from): Kevin Pietersen (capt.), Mayank Agarwal, Dinesh Karthik, Milind Kumar, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Murali Vijay, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Jayant Yadav, Siddharth Kaul, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Sharma, HS Sharaf, Rahul Shukla, Jaidev Unadkat, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Ross Taylor, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Wayne Parnell

Mumbai Indians (from): Rohit Sharma (capt.), Chidhambaram Gautam, Sushant Marathe, Aditya Tare, Ambati Rayudu, Apoorv Wankhade, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Jalaj Saxena, Shreyas Gopal, Jasprit Bumrah, Pawan Suyal, Michael Hussey, Ben Dunk, Kieron Pollard, Corey Anderson, Lasith Malinga, Josh Hazlewood, Krishmar Santokie, Marchant de Lange


Key Players

Kevin Pietersen

Having been missing through injury, Pietersen is back and hopeful of making a big impact in this year’s IPL.

The former England batsman has become a freelance Twenty20 cricketer, and he will be determined to stamp his authority here.


Kieron Pollard

He may not have quite found form just yet, but West Indian Pollard will certainly be one to watch here.

With his aggressive batting and seam bowling, he is still one of the premier all-rounders in Twenty20 cricket.