PFA Awards 2014: Date, Time, TV Info, Nominees List and Preview

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
PFA Awards 2014: Date, Time, TV Info, Nominees List and Preview
Jon Super

The 2013-14 Premier League season is nearing its conclusion and on Sunday the members of the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) will gather in London to reward the very best players of this campaign.

The Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards are two of the most prestigious trophies any individual player can win in English football, and past winners have included stars such as Gareth Bale, Robin van Persie, Ryan Giggs and many others.

Bale took home both trophies last year and has since left the Premier League, meaning we will be crowning new winners in both categories.

Kim Little will be defending her title in the Women's category, while the PFA will also be handing out an award for the Women's Young Player of the Year for the very first time.

Date: Sunday, April 27.

Location: Grosvenor House Hotel, London

Time: 7 p.m. BST/2 p.m. ET

TV info: BT Sport will broadcast a 30-minute highlight show of the award ceremony on Monday, April 30 at 9.45 p.m. BST (4:45 p.m. ET). Mobile coverage of the highlight show will be available via the BT Sport app and online player.

The nominees:

2014 PFA Player of the Year Awards Nominees
Men's PotY Men's Young PotY Women's PotY Women's Young PotY
Steven Gerrard Eden Hazard Lucy Bronze Jordan Nobss
Luis Suarez Daniel Sturridge Nicole Rolser Danielle Carter
Eden Hazard Raheem Sterling Kim Little Isobel Christiansen
Daniel Sturridge Luke Shaw Siobhan Chamberlain Martha Harris
Yaya Tour Aaron Ramsey Natasha Dowie Alex Greenwood
Adam Lallana Ross Barkley Jordan Nobss Lucy Bronze

PFA official website

Liverpool have been in sensational form for much of the 2013-14 Premier League season and haven't lost a single league match since December, so unsurprisingly a number of their players have been nominated this year.

While plenty of fans will be hoping for team captain Steven Gerrard to win the Player of the Year award, as the long-time Reds midfielder edges ever closer to his first Premier League title, Luis Suarez's incredible haul of 30 goals in 30 total appearances, via, has the Uruguayan in pole position.

Who should win the Player of the Year award?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Paired with fellow nominee Daniel Sturridge, Suarez's scoring exploits have paved the way for the Reds' incredible win streak, and his status as favourite for this year's award is no great surprise.

The Mirror's John Cross seems to think it won't even be a contest:

Eden Hazard and Yaya Toure have both been instrumental for their respective teams and would be deserving winners in their own rights, but with Liverpool on the verge of winning their first league title in 24 years, it would be shocking to see someone not playing for the Reds walk away with the award.

Liverpool's expected dominance of the Player of the Year award could be good news for Hazard's chances of winning the youngster's award, however. With Suarez soaking up much of the attention, Sturridge could be the one to fall victim to the Uruguayan's long shadow.

The Metro seems convinced the award will go to the Belgian, praising his ability to step up when his team needed him the most this season:

When Chelsea have been on the ropes or hunting for an elusive goal, Hazard has not hidden in the shadows but ensured he has stepped up to the plate.

In February, the Belgian came off the bench to equalise against Sparta Prague, with a sublime strike in the 90th minute to hand the Blues a 2-1 aggregate victory and avoid an unwanted period of extra time.

Then in last month’s FA Cup quarter-final against Manchester United, another wonder strike in the 59th minute kick-started Chelsea’s comeback at Old Trafford, as they recovered a 2-0 half-time deficit to eventually win the replay.

Raheem Sterling, Luke Shaw, Ross Barkley and Aaron Ramsey all enjoyed tremendous breakout seasons, and one could make the case for each of these players to win the award in what might very well be the strongest group of nominees we've ever seen.

But Hazard and Sturridge have both been playing on another level for months now, and regardless of which player is selected by the PFA members on Sunday, both will be able to look back on a phenomenal campaign.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Premier League

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.