Kings XI vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info, Preview

Antoinette Muller@mspr1ntFeatured ColumnistApril 21, 2014

Kings XI Punjab's David Miller bats during their Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match against Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad, India, Tuesday, May 8, 2012. (AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A.)
Mahesh Kumar A

The swashbuckling Kings XI Punjab go for a third straight victory as they take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Sharjah. Hyderabad have not yet jelled but have the makings of a strong side once they do.

Venue: Sharjah Cricket Stadium

Date: Tuesday, 22 April

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST/6:30 p.m. local time

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), StarHub (Singapore)

Weather: According to AccuWeather, it's going to be yet another scorcher. Day temperatures will reach up to 37 degrees, with it cooling slightly to 32 in the evening.


Hyderabad had a rude awakening to their Indian Premier League season, losing their first match to the Rajasthan Royals, one of the weaker teams of the tournament. Average batting cost them hugely, and although their bowlers were more than admirable, a lowly total of 133 is hardly ever enough in modern-day T20s.

The Kings XI, meanwhile, have blitzed their way through two fixtures, winning both. Those wins came largely thanks to Glenn Maxwell and David Miller's batting exploits. Maxwell smacked 95 off just 43 against Chennai to help Kings XI chase down 206. In that same match, Miller smacked 54 off 37.

It was more of the same against the Rajasthan Royals with Maxwell's 45-ball 89 and Miller notching up an unbeaten 51 off 19 to turn a tricky chase into a comfortable one.

Miller has certainly enjoyed himself, and those kinds of batting performances will be more than enough to leave whomever they are playing against somewhat concerned.

Even the opposition couldn't help but be awed by Maxwell, though. Sunrisers opener David Warner has been praising his fellow Australian, but that will all change when the two sides meet.

Hyderabad haven't had much time to jell as a unit, and time in the nets will have to do for now. Their bowling unit is solid, with the likes of Dale Steyn and Bhuvneshwar Kumar providing the pace and seam assault, while Amit Mishra can chip in with keeping the run rate tidy. If any team has the bowling power to stop the Kings XI, it's the Sunrisers. For them to win, though, their batsmen will have to do the business.

There is solace for the Sunrisers in the fact that the Kings XI bowlers, despite having Mitchell Johnson and Lakshmipathy Balaji, have conceded 205 and 191 in the two games they have played. A little bit of confidence can go a long way, and a few dud balls might be all the Hyderabad side needs to get it going.

Key players 

Kings XI Punjab

Glenn Maxwell has now made a name for himself as destructor, and the Kings XI will want more of the same from him against the likes of Dale Steyn. The big totals have been largely down to the lower order, so Maxwell will be a key in getting runs on the board.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Dale Steyn is one of the most experienced bowlers in the world, and he can take wickets in any conditions. He took two wickets in Hyderabad's opening fixture at an average of 14.50. Another performance like that will go a long way in ensuring the destructive batsmen of Kings XI are put on a leash.


Kings XI Punjab

Anureet Singh, P Awana, GJ Bailey, L Balaji, R Dhawan, Gurkeerat Singh, BE Hendricks, MG Johnson, Karanveer Singh, M Kartik, Mandeep Singh, SE Marsh, GJ Maxwell, DA Miller, AR Patel, NLTC Perera, CA Pujara, WP Saha, Sandeep Sharma, V Sehwag, Shivam Sharma, SN Thakur, M Vohra

Sunrisers Hyderabad

S Dhawan*, S Anirudha, A Ashish Reddy, RK Bhui, AJ Finch, MC Henriques, JO Holder, MC Juneja, B Kumar, CV Milind, A Mishra, NV Ojha, P Parameswaran, Parvez Rasool, IK Pathan, AG Paunikar, KL Rahul, DJG Sammy, I Sharma, KV Sharma, DW Steyn, BRM Taylor, Y Venugopal Rao, DA Warner