Chennai Super Kings vs. Delhi Daredevils, IPL: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistApril 20, 2014

Delhi Daredevils' Kevin Pietersen bats during an Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match against Deccan Chargers in New Delhi, India, Thursday, April 19, 2012. (AP Photo)

The Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils take each other on in Abu Dhabi on Monday. It's only Chennai's second game, while Delhi play their third.


Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Date: Monday, 21 April

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST/6:30 p.m. local time

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE), SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni (Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub (Singapore).

Weather: Accuweather forecasts another very hot day in the UAE. Temperatures will reach up to 35 degrees Celsius during the match. 



It's been an interesting start to the Indian Premier League. Chennai lost their opening fixture, despite posting 206 runs. Delhi have lost one and won another, with their bowling being their most impressive asset in both fixtures.

Delhi have been without star batsman Kevin Pietersen for both games, with a rather nasty-looking finger injury keeping him out of action. Pietersen posted this photo on Instagram:


Whether he'll be ready to play in the game against Chennai is not yet certain, but JP Duminy has been in fine form for the franchise. Duminy scored an unbeaten 67 off 48 and an unbeaten 52 off 35 in Delhi's two fixtures and there is almost certainly more where that came from.

Chennai, meanwhile, have to find a way to make their bowling click outside of home conditions. Ravi Ashwin and Ravi Jadeja are both in the side but both were expensive in their opening clash. Only Ashish Nehra had an economy rate of below 10.00 in the first fixture. 

Some of those bowlers have been keeping an eye on the action, though. Ashwin was enjoying the game between Bangalore and Mumbai and is even keeping tabs for fantasy cricket purposes. 

The match between Chennai and Delhi will be a test for both teams' bowling attacks. Delhi lost their match in which they were defending a total, but that was arguably more about the total being sub-par. Chennai couldn't even defend a total of over 200. If you're squeamish about bowlers being carted around the park, best you look away before the action even begins, because things could get messy.

If Pietersen plays, all eyes will be on him to perform. Not so much because Delhi's batting has been lacking but simply because he has a point to prove. With Ross Taylor being in woeful form, the New Zealander could drop out to make space for Pietersen if he is fit.

Chennai might be tempted into a few bowling changes, possibly finding a way to bring Samuel Badree, one of the best bowlers in the recently-concluded ICC World T20, into the side.


Key players

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai have showed that their batting is quite stable, so it will be up to the bowlers to step up to the plate. Ravi Ashwin took two wickets in the opening fixture, but he was very expensive. His figures of 4-0-41-2 were solid, but he needs to find a way to keep it tidy and build the pressure.


Delhi Daredevils

JP Duminy's batting theatrics have been invaluable for Delhi and whether Pietersen is fit or not, Delhi will need him to do more of the same.



Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (c/wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Faf du Plessis, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Samuel Badree, Ben Hilfenhaus, Matt Henry, Baba Aparajith, Mithun Manhas, Ishwar Pandey, Pawan Negi, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, John Hastings.

Delhi Daredevils

Mayank Agarwal, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik, Jean-Paul Duminy, Ross Taylor, Manoj Tiwary, James Neesham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Rahul Sharma, Wayne Parnell, Laxmi Shukla, Kedar Jadhav, Kevin Pietersen, Rahul Shukla, Saurabh Tiwary, Siddarth Kaul, Quinton de Kock, Milind Kumar, HS Sharath, Jayant Yadav.