Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Delhi Daredevils: Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Will TideySenior Manager, GlobalApril 19, 2014

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - OCTOBER 22:  Dinesh Karthik of Mumbai bats during the Champions League twenty20 match between Sydney Sixers and Mumbai Indians at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead on October 22, 2012 in Durban, South Africa. (Photo by Anesh Debiky / Gallo Images/Getty Images)
Gallo Images/Getty Images

Delhi Daredevils bounced back from their opening defeat to Royal Challengers Bangalore with a four-wicket victory against Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday, in the 2014 Indian Premier League.

Kolkata won the toss and elected to bat at the Dubai International Stadium, but got off to the worst possible start when Jacques Kallis fell to Mohammed Shami for a duck.

Kolkata Knight Riders, 166-5
Jacques Kallisc Ross Taylor b Mohammed Shami010.0000
Gautam Gambhirc JP Duminy b Nathan Coulter-Nile040.0000
Manish Pandeyb Shahbaz Nadeem4842114.2850
Robin Uthappac Ross Taylor b Jaidev Unadkat5541134.1461
Shakib Al HasanNOT OUT3022136.3621
Yusuf Pathanb Nathan Coulter-Nile118137.5010
Suryakumar YadavNOT OUT83266.6620
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 12, lb 1)1414
Mohammed Shami43318.259
Nathan Coulter-Nile42726.7512
Jaidev Unadkat42516.254
Jimmy Neesham226013.002
Shahbaz Nadeem32919.665
JP Duminy32508.333

The Knight Riders' other opener, Gautam Gambhir, also went without troubling the scorers—falling in the second over to Nathan Coulter-Nile.

From there, Kolkata steadied the ship. Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa took the score to 75-2 before Pandey was finally dismissed for 48.

Shakib Al Hasan then came in and carried his bat through with a knock of 30 not out. Uthappa reached his half-century and top-scored for the Knight Riders with 58.

They finished on 166-5 from their 20 overs.

In reply, Delhi Daredevils lost Murali Vijay to a run out in their first over. 

That brought Dinesh Karthik to the crease and his knock of 55 from 41 balls was key to the Daredevils' successful chase.

JP Duminy was the other key men for the Daredevils, scoring 52 not out from just 33 balls to drive his team to victory.

Delhi Daredevils, 167-6
Murali Vijayrun out (Manish Pandey)020.0000
Mayank Agarwalc Piyush Chawla b Morne Morkel2614185.7130
Dinesh Karthiklbw Sunil Narine5640140.0052
Ross Taylorb Jacques Kallis6966.6610
JP DuminyNOT OUT5235148.5733
Manoj Tiwaryc Sunil Narine b Morne Morkel86133.3310
Jimmy Neeshamc Yusuf Pathan b Piyush Chawla81172.7201
Nathan Coulter-NileNOT OUT000.0000
EXTRAS (w 5, lb 6)11
Vinay Kumar43508.756
Morne Morkel441210.2510
Shakib Al Hasan32508.335
Jacques Kallis21517.504
Piyush Chawla2.327110.806
Sunil Narine41814.509

Delhi won the match with three balls to spare, and having lost six wickets.

Defeat for Kolkata followed their opening 41-run victory against Mumbai Indians.