Players Championship 6 2014: Darts Scores, Standings and Analysis

Danny Collins@@dannycollins89Featured ColumnistApril 13, 2014

LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 27:  Robert Thornton of Scotland in action during his third round match against Wes Newton of England on day twelve of the World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace on December 27, 2013 in London, England.  (Photo by Harry Engels/Getty Images)
Harry Engels/Getty Images

Robert Thornton claimed his first title of the year as he edged a close final against Ian White to win the sixth Players Championship in Wigan. 

The Scot was down 4-2 and 5-4 to White, surviving match darts in the tenth leg before securing victory 6-5.

Match Stats
Robert Thornton6-5Ian White
144High Finish81
3Breaks of Throw3

Thornton's day began with a 6-3 win over David Pallett, and the momentum built throughout the day as he recorded 6-1 wins over Aden Kirk and Wayne Jones to advance to the last 16.

Having knocked out Andy Parsons 6-3 and Richie Burnett 6-5 in a tight quarter-final encounter, Thornton faced Phil Taylor in the semi-finals.

He started well by racing into a 3-0 lead before 14-times world champion Taylor won three of the next four legs.

They shared the next two legs before Thornton made a 76 finish to seal his place in the final.

The 43-year-old took his purple patch into the final against White only for the Stoke man to rattle through the next four legs.

Thornton responded by winning the seventh leg with a huge 144 checkout before winning the eighth in just 13 darts to level.

White had an 81 finish to win the ninth leg and edge ahead but was frustrated as he missed six opportunities to clinch victory. Thornton duly capitalised to hit double eight and make sure of a final leg. 

With the advantage of the throw, Thornton hit two 140 scores to race clear, hitting double twenty to record his first title of the year. 

LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 27:  Wes Newton of England celebrates winning a set during his third round match against Robert Thornton of Scotland on day twelve of the World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace on December 27, 2013 in London,
Harry Engels/Getty Images

Elsewhere, Michael van Gerwen suffered the indignity of a first-round exit for the first time in two years. The Dutchman will be looking to return to winning ways and build up a run of form ahead of the World Series in Dubai next month. 

The same will apply to compatriot Raymond van Barneveld, who despite reaching the quarter-final, will look to return to the podium in Berlin next week. 

The players next head to the Betway Premier League Darts 11 in Aberdeen on 17 April, before the European Tour 3 in Berlin on 19-21 April.

Players Championship 6

Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan, April 13 2014

First Round 

Michael Barnard 6-2 Michael van Gerwen (1)
Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Steve Grubb
Richie Burnett (32) 6-5 Kirk Shepherd
Joe Cullen 6-3 Brett Claydon
Matt Clark 6-3 Kevin Painter (16)
Martyn Turner 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Wes Newton (17) 6-4 Pete Dyos
Steve Brown 6-5 Magnus Caris
Mervyn King (8) 6-3 Mark Cox
Andy Parsons 6-5 Conan Whitehead
Jamie Lewis (25) 6-5 Dennis Smith
Dennis Priestley 6-5 Benito van de Pas
Robert Thornton (9) 6-3 David Pallett
Aden Kirk 6-4 Gino Vos
Wayne Jones (24) 6-2 Tony Richardson
Josh Payne 6-5 Mark Barilli
Kim Huybrechts (5) 6-5 Wayne Pepper
Connie Finnan 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Terry Jenkins (28) 6-5 Marc Dewsbury
David Ladley 6-4 Jason Lovett
Phil Taylor (12) 6-0 Ross Twell
Ross Smith 6-5 Scott Rand
Paul Nicholson (21) 6-4 Jim Walker
Dan Russell 6-2 Colin Osborne
Dave Chisnall (4) 6-5 Kevin Dowling
Denis Ovens 6-2 Mark Webster
Terry Temple 6-2 Andy Smith (29)
Tony Newell 6-5 Steve West
Simon Whitlock (13) 6-3 Andy Pearce
Paul Amos 6-3 Gary Stone
Raymond van Barneveld (20) 6-1 Matt Padgett
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Gary Anderson (2) 6-5 Scott Mackenzie
John Bowles 6-3 Ryan De Vreede
Vincent van der Voort (31) 6-3 Jason Hogg
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Justin Pipe (15) 6-1 Darren Johnson
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Ian Moss
Michael Smith (18) 6-1 Campbell Jackson
Keegan Brown 6-4 Robert Owen
Steve Beaton (7) 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Chris Aubrey 6-5 David Dodds
Jelle Klaasen (26) 6-3 Brian Woods
Andrew Gilding 6-3 William O'Connor
Ian White (10) 6-2 John Henderson
Joey Ten Berge 6-3 Kevin Voornhout
Stuart Kellett (23) 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher
James Hubbard 6-5 Kurt Parry
Peter Wright (6) 6-5 Steve Hine
Mareno Michels 6-0 John Newland
Dean Winstanley (27) 6-3 Ricky Evans
Arron Monk 6-3 John Part
Michael Mansell 6-0 Jamie Caven (11)
Christian Kist 6-5 Andy Jenkins
James Wade (22) 6-4 Kevin McDine
Jamie Bain 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Mark Frost 6-3 Brendan Dolan (3)
Mark Walsh 6-4 Joe Murnan
Darren Webster (30) 6-4 Joey Palfreyman
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Stuart White
Andy Hamilton (14) 6-3 James Richardson
Kevin Thomas 6-3 Peter Hudson
Ronnie Baxter (19) 6-5 Johnny Haines
Glenn Spearing 6-5 Ben Ward

Second Round 
Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Michael Barnard
Richie Burnett 6-5 Joe Cullen
Matt Clark 6-3 Martyn Turner
Wes Newton 6-5 Steve Brown
Andy Parsons 6-2 Mervyn King
Jamie Lewis 6-3 Dennis Priestley
Robert Thornton 6-1 Aden Kirk
Wayne Jones 6-4 Josh Payne
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Connie Finnan
Terry Jenkins 6-3 David Ladley
Phil Taylor 6-3 Ross Smith
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Dan Russell
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Denis Ovens
Terry Temple 6-4 Tony Newell
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Paul Amos
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Gerwyn Price
John Bowles 6-5 Gary Anderson
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Justin Pipe 6-2 Colin Lloyd
Michael Smith 6-5 Keegan Brown
Chris Aubrey 6-3 Steve Beaton
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Ian White 6-2 Joey Ten Berge
Stuart Kellett 6-2 James Hubbard
Peter Wright 6-4 Mareno Michels
Dean Winstanley 6-3 Arron Monk
Christian Kist 6-0 Michael Mansell
James Wade 6-0 Jamie Bain
Mark Walsh 6-5 Mark Frost
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Darren Webster
Kevin Thomas 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Glenn Spearing
Losers £250

Third Round 
Richie Burnett 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Wes Newton 6-1 Matt Clark
Andy Parsons 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Robert Thornton 6-1 Wayne Jones
Terry Jenkins 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Phil Taylor 6-0 Paul Nicholson
Terry Temple 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 John Bowles
Michael Smith 6-4 Justin Pipe
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Chris Aubrey
Ian White 6-0 Stuart Kellett
Dean Winstanley 6-1 Peter Wright
James Wade 6-1 Christian Kist
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Mark Walsh
Kevin Thomas 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Losers £500

Fourth Round 
Richie Burnett 6-2 Wes Newton
Robert Thornton 6-3 Andy Parsons
Phil Taylor 6-3 Terry Jenkins
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Terry Temple
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Michael Smith
Ian White 6-2 Andrew Gilding
James Wade 6-1 Dean Winstanley
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Kevin Thomas
Losers £1,000

Robert Thornton 6-5 Richie Burnett
Phil Taylor 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Ian White 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Kyle Anderson 6-3 James Wade
Losers £1,500

Robert Thornton 6-4 Phil Taylor
Ian White 6-1 Kyle Anderson
Losers £2,500

Robert Thornton 6-5 Ian White
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £5,000


    World Cup of Darts 2018 Draw Confirmed!

    Darts logo

    World Cup of Darts 2018 Draw Confirmed!

    via Josh's Dartistry

    PL Darts Tips: Anderson and van Gerwen set for Finals Night showdown

    Darts logo

    PL Darts Tips: Anderson and van Gerwen set for Finals Night showdown

    Van Gerwen Aiming For Cross Revenge

    Darts logo

    Van Gerwen Aiming For Cross Revenge

    Neil Foster
    via Betfred Blog

    Wayne Mardle: Anderson and MVG look set for comfortable wins

    Darts logo

    Wayne Mardle: Anderson and MVG look set for comfortable wins

    via Betfair