Datsyuk Edges Richards for Selke, Ovechkin Repeats MVP

Chris DiFrancescoAnalyst ISeptember 21, 2016

It was a historic second place finish for Philadelphia Flyers captain Mike Richards. That finish involves tonight’s Frank J. Selke award. The award is given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.

The voting was the closest vote race since the trophy’s inception back in 1978. Detroit Red Wings star Pavel Datsuk won the trophy with 945-942 votes over Richards. It shows that the NHL, and the fans of the league, are giving the Flyer captain the respect he deserves.

Other notes on the NHL Awards:

Alexander "The Great" Ovechkin won his second consecutive Hart trophy as the league’ s Most Valuable Player. Ovie also won the Lester B. Pearson award for the "most outstanding player."

Columbus rookie goaltender Steve Mason took home the Calder Trophy as the top rookie. No shock there.

Bruins Zdeno Chara won the Norris trophy as the best defenseman.

Finally, Bruins net-minder Tim Thomas took home the Vezina trophy. He was voted as the league's top goalie. Thomas posted a record of 36-11-7 with a 2.10 GAA.