Backstrom Finishes Behind Thomas in Vezina Trophy Award Voting

Joseph GuntherContributor IJune 18, 2009

LAS VEGAS - JUNE 18:  Niklas Backstrom of the Minnesota Wild poses for a portrait at the 2009 NHL Awards at the Palms Casino Resort on June 18, 2009 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images for NHL)

Despite finishing in the top five in the NHL in wins, goals against average, save percentage, and shutouts, Minnesota Wild goaltender Niklas Backstrom did not win the Vezina Trophy Thursday at the NHL award banquet in Las Vegas.

Backstrom was the only nominee that did not play in the postseason. The winner of the award was Tim Thomas, who led the Boston Bruins to best record in the Eastern Conference. The other runner-up was Steve Mason, who led the Columbus Blue Jackets to the first postseason appearance in team history.

Thomas won the award by leading the league in goals against average and save percentage while playing between the pipes for the best team in its conference.

Mason won the Calder Trophy as the rookie of the year earlier in the banquet.

Backstrom was the only Minnesota Wild player nominated for an award.

For more information on the Minnesota Wild click here.