The Ultimate Fighter 19 Cast Revealed

Riley KontekFeatured ColumnistMarch 25, 2014

USA Today

Fans have been waiting anxiously for the cast of The Ultimate Fighter 19which was announced in full Tuesday.

The season, which will be coached by BJ Penn and Frankie Edgar, premieres April 16 after the TUF Nations Finale on Fox Sports 1. The season will host a field of middleweight and light heavyweight participants who will fight for a UFC contract.

The season has a nice mix of past competitors, unknowns, up-and-comers and even a former Bellator champion.

There are three men on the series who have already competed on a season of TUF. Two of them (Tim Williams and Jake Heun) were on the 17th season, while one man (Nordine Taleb of Team Canada) competed on TUF Nations. Williams and Heun lost their elimination-round fights to Dylan Andrews and Adam Cella, respectively. Taleb lost his quarterfinals bout in a potential fight of the season to Tyler Manawaroa.

Former Bellator welterweight champion Lyman Good is also slated to appear on the show, moving up from welterweight to middleweight. His contract with Bellator expired and he jumped on a chance to try to make the UFC soon after.

Other notables on the cast include Irish phenom Cathal Pendred, who is a teammate of Conor McGregor; Dhiego Lima, the brother of Bellator title challenger Douglas Lima; and Eddie Gordon, a disciple of Matt Serra and Ray Longo's gym.

According to the list of men the UFC released, only 31 participants have been announced, meaning the list is one man short. That means we will probably find out who the 32nd man is upon the season premiere April 16.

Below is a list of all the participants on the show:

  • Corey Anderson (3-0)
  • Kelly Anundson (6-1)
  • Anton Berzin (3-1)
  • Josh Clark (7-2)
  • Chris Fields (8-4)
  • Matt Gabel (8-3)
  • Lyman Good (15-3)
  • Eddie Gordon (6-1)
  • Jake Heun (6-3)
  • Mike King (5-0)
  • Tyler King (7-1)
  • Dhiego Lima (9-2)
  • Adrian Miles (14-5)
  • Tyler Minton (5-1)
  • Todd Monaghan (8-2)
  • Cody Mumma (5-1)
  • Cathal Pendred (13-2)
  • John Poppie (3-1)
  • Doug Sparks (7-2)
  • Dan Spohn (8-3)
  • Josh Stansbury (4-2)
  • Ian Stephens (4-0)
  • Adam Stroup (5-1)
  • Nordine Taleb (8-2)
  • Hector Urbina (16-8-1)
  • Matt Van Buren (6-2)
  • Bojan Velickovic (8-2)
  • Daniel Vizcaya (7-2)
  • Patrick Walsh (4-1)
  • Tim Williams (8-1)
  • Roger Zapata (5-1)