World FootballDownload App

Dive or No Dive? Vote on Andres Iniesta and Co from El Clasico

FC Barcelona's Neymar from Brazil, left is pressured by Real Madrid's Sergio Ramos during a Spanish La Liga soccer match at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid, Sunday March 23, 2014. (AP Photo/Paul White)
Paul White/Associated Press
Karl MatchettFeatured Columnist IVDecember 13, 2016

Diving is a part of the game. Diving should be eradicated with the harshest possible punishments.

Wherever you stand on the issue, there's no doubt that diving is found in the game, often in the biggest matches and certainly cropping up in games of enormous tension where the stakes are highest.

Here we take a look at a few contentious incidents which have occurred of late, especially in the recent Real Madrid vs. Barcelona fixture; take a look below and vote on whether you think they were dives or not!

 

Andres Iniesta

We'll start with a couple of big calls from el clasico, where Barcelona beat Real Madrid 4-3 at the weekend.

The winning goal came from the penalty spot as Andres Iniesta burst between two Madrid defenders before tumbling to the ground inside the box. Leo Messi stepped up to take the penalty, netting his hat-trick in the process to put his team right back into La Liga's title race.

Was it a dive? Was it a foul? The referee clearly thought so—but this was just one of three contentious penalty calls in the game.

 

Neymar

A little earlier in the match, Real Madrid were reduced to 10 men as Sergio Ramos saw red for a last-man foul on Brazilian forward Neymar.

The attacker certainly got to the ball first and ran across his man, leaving Ramos with no chance of winning back the ball, but the defender—who received a third clasico sending off—looked in disbelief at the awarding of the spot-kick.

His arm goes out, the legs seem to have some contactbut was it enough to warrant the foul?

 

Pepe

No clasico could possibly pass by without Portuguese scrapper Pepe getting involved in some shenanigans.

The Real Madrid defender's not-so-finest moment came after Messi had scored his first of the game, as he took offence to Cesc Fabregas and seemed to have a coming-together of heads with the Barca man. Cesc went to ground, as did Pepe a second later...was either a simulation, or both?

 

Arjen Robben

Just to get away from the clasico to finish with, here's one from the UEFA Champions League round of 16 games, where Arjen Robben went tumbling to ground inside the Arsenal penalty area.

Robben evaded two defenders before hitting the turf...it looks fairly straightforward and the referee gave nothing, but perhaps there was more to the initial challenges than looked at first glance?

Or perhaps not...you decide.

 

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Download
Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices