India vs. West Indies, World T20: Video Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorMarch 23, 2014

DHAKA, BANGLADESH - MARCH 23:  Lendl Simmons of the West Indies bats as MS Dhoni of India looks on during the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 match between the West Indies and India at Sher-e-Bangla Mirpur Stadium on March 23, 2014 in Dhaka, Bangladesh.  (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)
Scott Barbour/Getty Images

India recorded their second consecutive win at the World Twenty20 tournament in Bangladesh with a seven-wicket victory over defending champions West Indies in Mirpur.

India, who won the toss and elected to field, restricted the 2012 winners to 129-7 in their 20 overs at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

The winners of the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007 reached their target with two balls to spare.

After their opening victory against Pakistan, MS Dhoni’s side top Group 2 and they could seal a place in the semi-finals with victory over Bangladesh on Friday.

Sky Sports Screengrab

Dwayne Smith struggled at the top of the order and used up 29 balls to make just 11 and, despite a couple of lusty sixes, Chris Gayle was similarly mooted before being run out in the 13th over for 34.

Marlon Samuels also failed to score at more than a run-a-ball, and Dwayne Bravo was trapped lbw first ball by Amit Mishra, who picked up two wickets in the 15th over.

Ravindra Jadeja picked up three wickets but Dhoni may have regretted the decision not to bowl out Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who conceded just three runs from his three overs, as the slow left-armer was hit for three sixes in the final over.

West Indies: 129 for 7 (20 overs)
Dwayne Smith c and b Ashwin 11 32 29
Gayle run out (Shami) 34 49 33
Samuels st Dhoni b A Mishra 18 21 22
Simmons c Dhawan b Jadeja 27 29 22
Dwayne Bravo lbw b A Mishra 0 1
Sammy c Ro Sharma b Jadeja 11 12 7
Russell c Kohli b Jadeja 7 7 5
Narine not out 7 3 2
Ramdin not out 0 0
Extras 1nb 12w 0b 1lb 14
B Kumar3 0 3 0
Shami3 0 27 0
Ashwin4 0 24 1
A Mishra4 0 18 2
Raina2 0 8 0
Jadeja4 0 48 3

India’s reply started badly, as Shikhar Dhawan departed for a duck with Samuel Badree picking up a fortunate lbw decision.

However, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli milked the bowling around with ease, bringing up their half-centuries from 44 and 34 balls, respectively.

Kohli went for 54, from 41 balls, with India just 23 short of their target but Sharma carried on and finished unbeaten on 62 from 55 balls with Suresh Raina hitting the winning runs.

India: 130 for 3 (19.4 overs)
Ro Sharma not out 62 77 55
Dhawan lbw b Badree 0 2 3
Kohli b Russell 54 50 41
Yuvraj Singh c Gayle b Samuels 10 19 19
Raina not out 1 1
Extras 1nb 2w 0b 0lb 3
Badree4 0 28 1
Santokie4 0 27 0
Narine4 0 20 0
Dwayne Bravo1 0 12 0
Sammy1 0 9 0
Samuels 3.4 0 22 1
Russell2 0 12 1

West Indies will look to bounce back from their opening defeat on Tuesday as they face hosts Bangladesh.