India vs. West Indies, World T20: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistMarch 21, 2014

India's batsmen Suresh Raina, second right, and Virat Kohli, right, celebrate their victory over Pakistan in the ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Friday, March 21, 2014. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

Group 2 of the World Twenty20 Super 10 stage continues on Sunday as India face current holders West Indies in what should be an intriguing match.

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Date: Sunday, March 23

Start time: 1.30 p.m. GMT

Live on: Sky Sports (U.K.), Fox Sports (Australia), Super Sport (South Africa), BTV (Bangladesh), PTV Sports (Pakistan), Star India (India), SLBC (Sri Lanka), ESPN3 (USA)

Weather: According to, conditions don’t look ideal in Mirpur, as thunderstorms are threatened on what promises to be a humid day.



India have already played once in this World T20 while it is the West Indies’ first game, so this could be an interesting encounter in Mirpur.

The Indians started well as they comfortably overcame Pakistan by seven wickets thanks to some restrictive bowling and some solid batting.

The Pakistanis batted first and made 130-7 from their 20 overs, a below-par score that was heavily restricted by Amit Mishra, Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in particular.

In reply, India coasted home for the loss of just three wickets, with an unbeaten 36 from Virat Kohli and 35 not out from Suresh Raina making things look very comfortable indeed.

Meanwhile, 2012 champions the West Indies looked in decent form as they overcame England 2-1 in a T20 series at home before seeing off the same opposition in a warm-up match in Bangladesh.

With their explosive batsmen and cunning spin bowlers, they may well present a stern test for their opponents and will want to start their title defense with a victory.


Team News

India (from): MS Dhoni (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron

West Indies (from): Darren Sammy (capt.), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith


Key Players

Amit Mishra

Last time out against Pakistan, Mishra returned the superb figures of 2-22 from four overs with one maiden and will want the same again.

The leg-spinner has had something of an interrupted international career, so he will be determined to stamp his authority on this game.


Sunil Narine

On Bangladesh’s slow, turning pitches, Narine will be relied upon as the West Indies’ biggest spin threat.

Having proved himself in the Indian Premier League and international cricket, Narine is a tremendous asset and may well find himself taking the new ball at times.