World Twenty20 2014: Dates, Fixtures, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Rob BlanchetteFeatured ColumnistMarch 14, 2014

COLOMBO, SRI LANKA - OCTOBER 07:  Chris Gayle of the West Indies celebrates with the trophy after winning the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Final between Sri Lanka and the West Indies at R. Premadasa Stadium on October 7, 2012 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.  (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)
Gareth Copley/Getty Images

The West Indies will look to regain the World Twenty20 title they won in 2012 when the tournament begins on March 16 in Bangladesh. 

Chris Gayle's men defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the last final, per BBC Sport, to claim the title of champions in Colombo. 

This year sees 16 teams taking part for the first time rather than the usual 10.

A first-round stage has been organised for the smaller cricketing nations, with the two best sides advancing to the Super 10.

Here is the full list of groups and fixtures:

2014 World Twenty20 First-Round Stage
Hong Kong
BBC Sport
2014 World Twenty20 First-Round Fixtures
DateTime (GMT)Time (ET)Match
March 169:30 a.m5:30 a.m.Bangladesh v Afghanistan
1:30 p.m.9:30 p.m.Nepal v Hong Kong
March 179:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Zimbabwe v Ireland
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.UAE v Netherlands
March 189:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Afghanistan v Hong Kong
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Bangladesh v Nepal
March 199:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Zimbabwe v Netherlands
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Ireland v UAE
March 209:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Afghanistan v Nepal
1:30 a.m.9:30 a.m.Bangladesh v Hong Kong
March 215:30 a.m.1:30 a.m.Zimbabwe v UAE
9:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Ireland v Netherlands
BBC Sport
2014 World Twenty20 Super 10 Group Stage
1Sri Lanka
South Africa
New Zealand
Group B Q1
2West Indies
Group A Q1
BBC Sport
2014 World Twenty20 Knockout Stages
DateTime (BST)Time (ET)Match
April 32:00 p.m.9:00 a.m.Semi-final: Group 1 Winners v Group 2 Runners-Up
April 42:00 p.m.9:00 a.m.Semi-final: Group 2 Winners v Group 1 Runners-Up
April 62:00 p.m.9:00 a.m.Final
April 7(Reserve day)
Fixture/Start times subject to change
BBC Sport
2014 World Twenty20 Super 10 Fixtures
DateTime (GMT)Time (ET)Match
March 211:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.India v Pakistan
March 229:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Sri Lanka v South Africa
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.England v New Zealand
March 239:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Pakistan v Australia
1:30 p.m9:30 a.m.West Indies v India
March 249:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.New Zealand v South Africa
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Sri Lanka v Q1B
March 251:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Q1A v West Indies
March 279:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.South Africa v Q1B
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.England v Sri Lanka
March 289:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.West Indies v Australia
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Q1A v India
March 299:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.New Zealand v Q1B
1:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.England v South Africa
March 3010:30 a.m5:30 a.m.Pakistan v Q1A
2:30 a.m.9:30 a.m.India v Australia
March 3110:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.England v Q1B
2:30 p.m.9:30 a.m.Sri Lanka v New Zealand
April 110:30 a.m.5:30 a.m.Q1A v Australia
2:30 a.m.9:30 a.m.West Indies v Pakistan
BBC Sport

The tournament will be covered in full live in the UK by Sky Sports and streamed on Sky Go. It will also be shown on ESPN3 in the U.S.


Super 10, Group 1

Uncredited/Associated Press

The runners-up of the last two finals, Sri Lanka have been drawn with England, New Zealand and the No. 1 Test side in the world, South Africa.

The Sri Lankans have been in Bangladesh since January, involved in a Test series with the hosts and a number of matches.

England lifted the title in 2010 but have failed to progress further than the group stage on every other occasion.

South Africa have struggled in the past as well, having only ever been past the Super 8 stage once, like England. 

As usual, New Zealand will be fancied least of the big nations, but with two teams qualifying for the knockout phase, the Southern Hemisphere nation always positions itself strongly to have a chance of qualifying. 


Super 10, Group 2

Themba Hadebe/Associated Press

Defending champions West Indies head up Group 2, with the flair of India and Pakistan and a resurgent Australia looking to make their marks on the world scene again after this winter's Ashes success.

Kieron Pollard misses the tournament for the West Indies, per BBC Sport, but the in-form Chris Gayle is present and ready to lead from the top order. 

India won the first ever World Twenty20 in 2007 but have failed to progress to the knockout stages since. 

However, neighbours Pakistan always come to the party and perform almost every time.

They have reached the last four on four occasions and won the tournament in 2009. They are well adept at this shorter form of the game and can beat any team in the world on their day. 

Australia have never won this international title but have made the last four on three occasions. 

Australian cricket is on the crest of a wave. With an impressive batting line-up, they will feel that if they qualify from the Super 10s, they can finally win the whole competition.

But spin will be key on the subcontinent, and that is one of Australia's weaknesses. Being placed in a group with India and Pakistan was the last thing they needed in the climate of Bangladesh.