Ireland vs. Zimbabwe, World T20: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Chris TealeFeatured ColumnistMarch 16, 2014

Ireland’s Andy McBrine, center, celebrates with teammates the dismissal of Nepal’s Sharad Vesawkar during a warm-up cricket match ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup Cricket in Fatullah, near Dhaka, Bangladesh, Wednesday, March 12, 2014. (AP Photo/A.M. Ahad)
A.M. Ahad/Associated Press

Ireland and Zimbabwe commence their Group B campaigns in the World T20 on Monday, with both hoping to make a winning start in what could be a key game.


Venue: Sylhet Stadium

Date: Monday, March 17

Start time: 9:30 a.m. GMT

Live on: Sky Sports (UK), Fox Sports (Australia), Super Sport (South Africa), BTV (Bangladesh), PTV Sports (Pakistan), Star India (India), SLBC (Sri Lanka), ESPN3 (USA)

Weather: According to, Sylhet should be very sunny and very warm, with temperatures reaching highs of 34 degrees Celsius.



The opening match of Group B sees two teams facing each other with realistic aims of qualifying for the Super 10 and facing ICC Full Members in the latter stages.

For Ireland, this is the fourth consecutive World T20 they have qualified for, having won last year’s qualification tournament without losing a game.

The Irish bring a strong squad to this tournament, including the explosive Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien and captain William Porterfield.

Coming off an encouraging display in the Caribbean against the West Indies, Ireland have already been victorious in Bangladesh as they overcame Nepal by five wickets in a warm-up game.

George Dockrell, Andy McBrine and Kevin O’Brien each took two wickets while Max Sorensen took one as Nepal were restricted to 137-7 from their 20 overs.

In reply, Ireland rarely looked troubled as they reached their target with five balls remaining and just five wickets down.

Zimbabwe have not had such happy preparation for this tournament, and they found themselves on the end of a four-wicket defeat to minnows Hong Kong in their warm-up game.

The Zimbabweans batted first and made 153-7, led by 45 not out by Elton Chigumbura, 32 by Sikandar Raza and 31 by Vusi Sibanda.

Hong Kong chased down their target very well, but it went down to the last ball with one run still required for the win.

However, Mark Chapman hit that ball for six to end on 53 not out and help his side to a famous victory.

For Zimbabwe, Prosper Utseya led the bowling effort with 3-19, with Tendai Chatara, Tinashe Panyangara and Natsai Mushangwe taking one apiece.

With both sides having such differing fortunes already, it promises to be an absorbing encounter between two evenly-matched teams.


Team News

Ireland (from): William Porterfield (capt), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Max Sorensen, James Shannon, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

Zimbabwe (from): Brendan Taylor (capt), Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chatara, Elton Chigumbura, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Natsai M'shangwe, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams


Key Players

George Dockrell

On the turning pitches of Bangladesh, Ireland’s premier spinner George Dockrell will be crucial with his left-armers.

The 21-year-old has already shown himself to be a bowler of great promise, and he will see the matches here as an opportunity to prove himself once again.

Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi/Associated Press


Brendan Taylor

If Zimbabwe are to be successful in this game, captain Brendan Taylor will likely be relied upon for runs and strong leadership.

His side have not won at the World T20 since 2007, and Taylor will want that poor run of form to end as soon as possible.