Dive or No Dive? Vote on These Arjen Robben Incidents

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Dive or No Dive? Vote on These Arjen Robben Incidents
Matthias Schrader/Associated Press

For the first time in Bleacher Report’s Dive or No Dive feature, we’re concentrating on a single player.

Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben went to ground twice against Arsenal on Tuesday, drawing a penalty the second time.

He also drew the foul that had Wojciech Szczesny ejected from the first leg—a moment that no doubt had a significant effect on the Champions League Round of 16 tie between the Bundesliga and Premier League sides.

Following are video clips of the three incidents, and you’ll be able to vote on the Dutchman’s behaviour in all three.

 

Matthias Schrader/Associated Press

Exhibit A: February 19, 2014

Did Robben take a dive at the Emirates?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Mesut Ozil had already missed a penalty when David Alaba stepped up to the spot in the 40th minute of this Champions League Round of 16 first leg between Arsenal and Bayern Munich.

Three minutes earlier, Bayern midfielder Toni Kroos had sprung teammate Arjen Robben with a delightful chipped pass the Dutchman brought down with a high left boot.

But as he attempted to control the ball he was clattered into by onrushing Gunners goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny, who was subsequently shown a red card for the challenge.

Alaba missed his penalty, however, although Bayern would go on to win 2-0 on the night.

 

Matthias Schrader/Associated Press

Exhibit B: March 11, 2014

Did Robben dive under pressure from Cazorla?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Midway through the second half of Tuesday’s second leg, Robben, having burst past Santi Cazorla, proceeded to round Thomas Vermaelen before Cazorla caught up with him and applied pressure from behind.

Feeling his foot caught up with the Spaniard’s boot, Robben took another step before throwing himself to ground and holding his ankle as if injured.

But the referee was unmoved and motioned for play to continue. He did not, however, book Robben for diving.

 

Martin Meissner/Associated Press

Exhibit C: March 11, 2014

Did Robben dive to earn Bayern a late penalty?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Already headed into the next round of the competition, Bayern Munich were awarded a stoppage-time penalty when Robben went to ground following a challenge from Laurent Koscielny.

The two had fought a pitched battle the entire night, and while Koscielny had made contact with the 30-year-old inside the 18-yard box it was perhaps with some embellishment that Robben hit the floor.

Thomas Muller stepped up to do the business, but, after getting a piece of the shot, goalkeeper Lukasz Fabianski was able to clear the ball away from danger as it spun along the goal line.

Still, Bayern prevailed 3-1 on aggregate and advanced into the Champions League quarterfinals.

 

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.