West Indies vs. England, 2nd T20: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info and Preview

Antoinette MullerFeatured ColumnistMarch 10, 2014

West Indies' Andre Russell runs out England's James Tredwell during their first T20 International cricket match at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, Sunday, March 9, 2014. (AP Photo/Ricardo Mazalan)
Ricardo Mazalan/Associated Press

After winning the first Twenty20 against England quite easily, West Indies have a chance to do it all over again on Tuesday. There's no wasting time for turnovers and travel on this tour, and England must win at the same venue if they hope to keep the series alive.

Venue: Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados

Date: Tuesday, Mar. 11, 2014

Start time: 2:30 p.m. local time, 6:30 p.m. GMT

Weather:  Accuweather predicts a fine day with temperatures up to 28 degrees Celsius. There is the possibility of some rain, but as it stands, things look all clear.

TV Info: Sky Sports 2 (UK)


Ricardo Mazalan/Associated Press


England succumbed to a 27-run defeat in the first T20 as Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels blew them away with the bat, posting a total of 170 in 20 overs. In their reply, England struggled against the Windies' spinners and simply couldn't pick them or score off them. 

As if the defeat wasn't quite enough, England now have to alter their line-up for the second T20, too. Joe Root has already returned home after breaking his finger in the one-day series, and now Stuart Broad has been added to the casualty list. The captain has been struggling with a knee problem over the winter and, although he has managed it with injections, he was visibly limping during the T20 on Sunday. 

With these T20s coming ahead of the ICC World T20, Broad told the press after the match he will miss the next two games to ensure his participation. Chris Jordan could slot into the side for the second T20 as a bowling replacement, while Eoin Morgan will most likely take over the captaincy.

England's limited-overs form has degenerated as of late, with the team contriving to lose from strong positions more often than not. For the West Indies, there have been some positive signs that they are a strong and competitive unit, at least in the shortest format, even if they were held to a 1-1 draw by Ireland.

Although their pace bowling leaves much to be desired, Sunil Narine and Samuel Badree have been outstanding with their spin. Dwayne Bravo is able enough to fill in as a medium-pace bowler, while Marlon Samuels provides another part-time option.

Gayle's return to the side is also welcomed. Despite a slow start on Sunday, it took about 15 minutes for the big Jamaican to return to his usual stand-and-deliver form. If Gayle is on song, he can take almost any game away form almost any player.

With England's injuries taken into account, the Windies look the favourites for the second T20. The venue won't change, so expect slow bowling to be key once again..


Ricardo Mazalan/Associated Press

Key players

West Indies

Samuel Badree took three wickets in his four overs on Sunday, claiming his best match figures to date. Badree made his debut for the West Indies in 2012. Although his career has meandered along, he looks like he might finally be coming into his own.

Sunil Narine slipped while fielding and might be rested as a precaution for the second T20, in which case it will be up to Badree to spin England out of contention.



James Tredwell was England's best bowler in the first T20, with conditions suiting him far more than the pace trio. His figures of 4-0-16-1 were the best of the English bunch, and he managed to get the big wicket of Chris Gayle to boot. If England were brave enough, it might not be the worst idea to open the bowling with Tredwell and replace Broad with Stephen Parry, a slow bowler.



West Indies: Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle,Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith


England: Stuart Broad (capt), Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Michael Lumb, Stephen Parry, Ian Bell, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Luke Wright.