SEC Football: Top 10 Contenders for 2014 Offensive Player of the Year

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
SEC Football: Top 10 Contenders for 2014 Offensive Player of the Year
Chris Carlson/Associated Press

The Southeastern Conference is in search of its next stable of offensive superstars.

Several big names on the defensive side of the ball left for the NFL draft, and the new crop of conference talent is strong but largely unproven. But that is nothing compared to the gargantuan gulf left on the offensive side.

Stars around which the SEC built its reputation of being deep and dynamic are gone—players such as Johnny Manziel, Aaron Murray, AJ McCarron, Tre Mason, Odell Beckham Jr., Mike Evans, Connor Shaw, Jarvis Landry, Jeremy Hill, Henry Josey and Jordan Matthews.

Countless other players teams depended on have exhausted eligibility and are heading to the NFL.

After the Florida State Seminoles won this past national championship and thereby derailed its run of BCS dominance, the SEC enters the playoff era with tons of talent but a many leadership questions, too.

Any time a list such as this doesn't include talented rising stars like Derrick Henry and Maty Mauk, you know there is still a deep pool of players. Still, 2014 should be interesting, to say the least.

Let's take a look at this year's candidates for the conference's Offensive Player of the Year award.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.