Olympic Hockey 2014: Schedule, TV Info and Team Predictions for Day 12

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Olympic Hockey 2014: Schedule, TV Info and Team Predictions for Day 12
Martin Rose/Getty Images

Ice hockey at the 2014 Winter Olympics will continue on Wednesday with four win-or-go-home quarterfinal showdowns featuring eight of the top men's teams on the planet.

Headlined by Sweden, the United States, Canada and Russia, Day 12 is sure to produce plenty of exciting results inside the Bolshoy Ice Dome and Shayba Arena in Sochi. With four teams set to advance to Friday's semifinals, guaranteeing each a shot at a medal, the stakes couldn't be higher. 

Below we'll get you set with viewing info and predictions for Wednesday's matchups.  

2014 Olympic Hockey TV Schedule - Day 12
Date Matchup Start Time TV (U.S.) TV (U.K.)
Feb. 19 Sweden vs. Slovenia 12 p.m. MSK, 3 a.m. ET, 8 a.m. GMT NBCSN BBC Two
Feb. 19 Finland vs. Russia 4:30 p.m. MSK, 7:30 a.m. ET, 12:30 p.m. GMT NBCSN BBC Two
Feb. 19 Canada vs. Latvia 9 p.m. MSK, 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. GMT MSNBC BBC Two
Feb. 19 United States vs. Czech Republic 9 p.m. MSK, 12 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. GMT USA Network BBC Two

Sochi2014.com

 

Day 12 Predictions 

Sweden over Slovenia 

Martin Rose/Getty Images

Slovenia crushed Austria 4-0 on Tuesday to set up a quarterfinal clash with Sweden. But despite the Slovenians' impressive form and heartwarming run, watch for the Scandinavian powerhouse to advance in Wednesday's first showdown.

Anchored by Henrik Lundqvist in the crease, top-seeded Sweden, who were the only team to win all three of their round-robin games in regulation, will be heavy favorites to reach the semifinals and contend for a podium spot this February.

Keep in mind that Lundqvist has allowed only three goals on 78 shots faced, turning in a save percentage of .936 thus far.

Prediction: Sweden 2, Slovenia 1

 

Russia over Finland

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Although Finland were able to secure one of the top four seeds, the fourth-seeded hopefuls are likely to struggle against the hosts on Day 12. Despite coming up short in a dramatic shootout against Team USA on Saturday, the Russians have been awfully impressive in wins over Slovenia, Slovakia and, most recently, Norway. 

Plus, Russia boasts far more firepower than Finland with Ilya Kovalchuk, Evgeni Malkin and the NHL's leading goal scorer Alexander Ovechkin. 

Fresh off a 4-0 thrashing of Norway on Tuesday, expect the hosts to prevail in a hard-fought battle on their home ice on Day 12.

Prediction: Russia 3, Finland 2

 

Canada over Latvia

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

After going unbeaten in their three round-robin games, defending Olympic gold medalists Canada will look to trounce Latvia on Wednesday. 

While the Eastern Europeans were able to knock off Switzerland on Tuesday for a berth in the quarterfinals, remember, this is a squad that lost all three of their round-robin games, getting outscored 10-5 in those matchups.

Meanwhile, Canada are as explosive as Olympic squads come, and are playing lights-out defense to complement their high-powered offensive attack. Led by Drew Doughty, Jeff Carter and Shea Weber, the North American powerhouse has all the tools required to reclaim gold in Sochi this February.

Expect the Canadians to roll on Wednesday.

Prediction: Canada 4, Latvia 1

 

United States over Czech Republic

Martin Rose/Getty Images

Which top seed is most likely to lose on Wednesday?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Team USA will be expected to advance comfortably past the Czech Republic on Wednesday inside Shayba Arena. Not only are the Americans the reigning Olympic silver medalists, but they won all three of their round-robin matchups and finished the stage with the best goal differential of any team in Sochi at plus-11. 

With Phil Kessel leading the way with four goals and three assists, watch for the U.S. to cruise past the Czech Republic and into the semifinals.

The Czechs' 5-3 win over Slovakia showcased their offensive potential, but also highlighted their glaring defensive weaknesses, which Team USA are poised to exploit on Wednesday.

Prediction: United States 3, Czech Republic 1

 

Follow Bleacher Report Featured Columnist Patrick Clarke on Twitter. 

Follow _Pat_Clarke on Twitter

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Fans of

Icon_subscribe
Icon_youtube
Icon_google
Olympics

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.

We're Scouting Top Writers