Superstar Ceilings of 2014 NBA Dunk Contest Participants

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Superstar Ceilings of 2014 NBA Dunk Contest Participants
Gerald Herbert/Associated Press

Over the years we've seen many superstars participate in the NBA Slam Dunk Contest. The '80s saw Dominique Wilkins and Michael Jordan capture the dunk crown. In the 1990s it was Kobe Bryant, and in 2000 Vince Carter won. Most recently Dwight Howard and Blake Griffin were high-profile players to win the event. But who among this year's participants has the chance to ascend to superstardom? 

In the field we have six contestants, each of whom has a chance of leaving a lasting legacy, both in the contest and the NBA at large. There are youngsters with high upside like Ben McLemore, Harrison Barnes and defending champ Terrence Ross. Point guards John Wall and Damian Lillard were both in the event, and each of them will also be making his first All-Star Game appearance. Then, of course, there's Paul George, who's established himself as one of the league's premier two-way players.

With such a promising field, picking who has the highest ceiling is a difficult task. To help, a few things will be considered. Since this is about ceiling, age and experience are certainly factors. Yet just because you're young, it doesn't mean you'll tap into all of your potential. For that reason, players who are more established have a greater probability of maximizing their skills.

Inevitably, whoever meshes the two best—youth and present abilities—is likely to have the highest ceiling and the best chance of reaching it. With that in mind, let's get to to the rankings.  


Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.