Russian's Go-Ahead Score Ruled No Goal Because Net Was Dislodged vs. USA

Tristan ThornburghSocial Media StaffFebruary 15, 2014

Team USA pulled out an impressive 3-2 victory over Team Russia in men's hockey following an incredible shootout—that almost never happened.

With less than five minutes remaining in the third period, Russia's Fedor Tyutin scored what looked to be the go-ahead goal to put Russia up 3-2, but it was called off after it was ruled that U.S. netminder Jonathan Quick had moved the goal.  

In international rules, a goal scored on a moved net is invalid (unlike NHL rules, where the goal becomes a judgment call). Quick's fortunate bump helped keep the score tied 2-2 and headed to overtime, where T.J. Oshie would score four goals in a shootout to help Team USA win. 

Related

    Most Decorated Male Winter Olympian Retires

    Winter Olympics logo
    Winter Olympics

    Most Decorated Male Winter Olympian Retires

    Kyle Newport
    via Bleacher Report

    Media Failing to Engage Gen Z in Olympics

    Winter Olympics logo
    Winter Olympics

    Media Failing to Engage Gen Z in Olympics

    Joon Lee
    via Bleacher Report

    Winter Olympics' Most Fire Highlights 🎥

    Winter Olympics logo
    Winter Olympics

    Winter Olympics' Most Fire Highlights 🎥

    Gill Clark
    via Bleacher Report

    Olympic Closing Ceremonies Schedule

    Winter Olympics logo
    Winter Olympics

    Olympic Closing Ceremonies Schedule

    James Dudko
    via Bleacher Report