Sri Lanka CricketDownload App

Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I: Video Highlights, Scorecard & Report

Sri Lanka bowler Lasith malinga, during the first T20 cricket match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka, at the DSC Cricket Stadium Dubai, United Arab Emirates, Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013 (AP Photo/Ineke zondag)
Ineke Zondag/Associated Press
Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorFebruary 14, 2014

Sri Lanka claimed a last-ball victory as they defeated Bangladesh by three wickets to wrap up a 2-0 Twenty20 International series win in Chittagong.

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bat, but his side were skittled out for 120 off the penultimate ball of the innings.

Bangladesh Innings: 120 all out (19.5 overs)
Tamim Iqbal c A Mendis b N Kulasekara 2 7 4
Rahman c Chandimal b Dilshan 1 2 3
A Haque c K Perera b Senanayake 24 22 17
Shakib c N Kulasekara b Senanayake 12 7 6
Nasir Hossain c Chandimal b A Mendis 8 17 13
Rahman c N Kulasekara b Malinga 26 59 36
Mahmudullah run out (Dilshan) 9 10 10
Reza c Chandimal b N Kulasekara 9 15 14
Mortaza b Malinga 17 10 10
Arafat Sunny c Chandimal b Malinga 5 9 6
Rubel Hossain not out 0 0
Extras 0nb 3w 1b 3lb 7
Dilshan2 0 23 1
N Kulasekara4 0 32 2
Senanayake4 0 11 2
Malinga 3.5 0 20 3
Mathews2 0 9 0
A Mendis4 0 21 1

The tourists were reduced to 50-6, but they needed two off the last ball and Sachithra Senanayake hit Farhad Reza to the boundary as Sri Lanka confirmed their status as the top T20 side on the planet ahead of next month's World Cup.

Sri Lanka Innings: 123 for 7 (20 overs)
K Perera lbw b Shakib 21 14 18
Dilshan b Arafat Sunny 3 16 6
Chandimal lbw b Mahmudullah 3 11 8
Sangakkara c Tamim Iqbal b Rubel Hossain 37 57 38
Perera b Mortaza 4 3 8
Mathews c A Haque b Mortaza 2 5 3
N Kulasekara run out (Mahmudullah) 2 6 3
T Perera not out 35 51 28
Senanayake not out 12 20 9
Extras 1nb 2w 0b 1lb 4
Arafat Sunny2 0 8 1
Mortaza4 0 29 2
Rubel Hossain4 0 34 1
Shakib2 0 8 1
Mahmudullah4 0 16 1
Nasir Hossain2 0 11 0
Reza2 0 16 0

The hosts lost both openers in the first eight deliveries before Senanayake picked up the wickets of key man Shakib Al Hasan (12) and Anamul Haque (24).

Debutant Sabbir Rahman top scored with 26, but only Mortaza (17) of the other batters reached double figures. Lasith Malinga ripped through the Tigers batting, taking 3-20.

Sri Lanka lost openers Kusal Perera and Tillakaratne Dilshan in the space of three balls after they put on 23 for the opening wicket.

Mahmudullah, who replaced Sohag Gazi after Bangladesh lost the opening T20I by two runs, removed Dinesh Chandimal cheaply. The visitors were under pressure when Mortaza removed Angelo Perera and Angelo Mathews in the same over before Nuwan Kulasekara was run out.

Kumar Sangakkara looked as if he was going to guide his side home but perished for 37, caught at backward point off Rubel Hossain to leave Sri Lanka needing 25 runs off the final 20 balls with three wickets remaining.

However, Thisara Perera's unbeaten 35 took them to the brink, before Senanayake found the boundary behind square leg off the final ball of the innings.

The teams now head to Dhaka for a three-match ODI series, which begins on Monday.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices