Dive or No Dive? Vote on Duda, Drmic and Gurpegui/Ronaldo

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Dive or No Dive? Vote on Duda, Drmic and Gurpegui/Ronaldo
David Ramos/Getty Images

There was no shortage of soft penalties awarded over the weekend, as the following trio of exhibits will demonstrate.

In each of the video clips below, the referee had to make a quick decision regarding a player gone to ground inside the area, and in one of them it was the attacker that was judged to have committed a foul.

The other two resulted in controversial goals for their sides and no doubt got the opposition's supporters good and riled.

Here is this week’s instalment of Dive or no Dive.

 

Exhibit A: Duda vs. Sevilla

Denis Doyle/Getty Images

Vote on Duda!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Malaga are now only seven points back of seventh-place Sevilla following Saturday’s important 3-2 victory at La Rosaleda.

Sevilla actually took a 2-1 lead into the final 13 minutes courtesy of goals from Carlos Bacca and Federico Fazio, but Samuel’s equaliser in the 77th minute set the stage for Duda’s winner shortly thereafter.

Duda, as it happened, also opened the scoring in controversial circumstances just after the half-hour mark.

Feeling the slightest touch to his shoulder, he went down like a pile of bricks—drawing a penalty from which he put his side in front.

But did he dive?

You decide.

 

Exhibit B: Marcel Ndjeng vs. Nurnberg

Axel Schmidt/Associated Press

Vote on Drmic!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Nurnberg picked up a vital three points, Sunday, thanks to a 3-1 victory away to eighth-place Hertha Berlin.

Adrian Ramos had given the hosts the lead just four minutes in, but Markus Feulner restored level terms midway through the opening frame, and in the 68th minute Josip Drmic scored what would prove to be the first of two important goals for the guests.

The second came in the fourth minute of second-half stoppage time after the referee had decided that Marcel Ndjeng’s contact with the Nurnberg man was sufficient for a penalty.

But was it?

 

Exhibit C: Carlos Gurpegui vs. Real Madrid

David Ramos/Getty Images

Vote on Carpegui!

Submit Vote vote to see results

Real Madrid were typically shown a difficult time at the old San Mames stadium, and their Sunday trip to Athletic Bilbao’s new ground was hardly different.

It took until the 65th minute for Jese to open the scoring in Basque country, but Ibai Gomez responded with an equaliser just eight minutes later.

Two minutes after that Madrid were reduced to 10 men when Cristiano Ronaldo was judged to have shoved Carlos Gurpegui to ground, but replays showed the decision might have been rather harsh.

Was the Ballon d’Or winner unfairly penalised on this occasion?

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.