Top World Cup Final Storylines

Final Preview, Prediction

EPL Week 25 Predictions: Highlighting In-Form Outfits at Risk of Crumbling

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
EPL Week 25 Predictions: Highlighting In-Form Outfits at Risk of Crumbling
Jon Super/Associated Press

All is going swimmingly for some in this season's Premier League title race, but the English top flight is an open expanse that can quickly throw campaigns into turmoil.

As things stand, the likes of Manchester City, Chelsea and Arsenal continue to vie for first place in the division's pecking order, with Week 25 sending out a number of roadblocks to the big guns.

Outfits both big and small will face their share of obstacles, but here we'll examine which of those clubs currently enjoying a stronger string of results are at risk of losing momentum this weekend.

2013-14 Premier League Week 25 Predictions
Fixture Date Time Predictions
Liverpool vs. Arsenal Feb. 8 12:45 p.m. GMT/7:45 a.m. ET 1-2
Aston Villa vs. West Ham Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-2
Chelsea vs. Newcastle United Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 3-1
Crystal Palace vs. West Brom Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 1-0
Norwich City vs. Manchester City Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 1-4
Southampton vs. Stoke City Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 3-1
Sunderland vs. Hull City Feb. 8 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET 2-1
Swansea City vs. Cardiff City Feb. 8 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET 2-2
Tottenham vs. Everton Feb. 9 1:30 p.m. GMT/8:30 a.m. ET 1-1
Manchester United vs. Fulham Feb. 9 4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET 1-0

PremierLeague.com

 

Liverpool vs. Arsenal

Seeing Manuel Pellegrini's Citizens lose on Monday evening will have undoubtedly brought a smile to the face of Arsene Wenger, whose side benefit from the two-point cushion now separating the two clubs at the Premier League's summit.

Who will win at Anfield this weekend?

Submit Vote vote to see results

However, a trip to Anfield could swiftly turn those grins into grimaces should the Gunners be unable to restrain the Liverpool tide, unbeaten in their last seven matches across all competitions.

Wenger's men are themselves coming to Merseyside with an eight-match unbeaten league streak on the line and can fall from the top of the pile unless they manage to pilfer three points from Brendan Rodgers' side.

Bar a crocked Kim Kallstrom, the Gunners have re-entered the league post-transfer window with the same squad they began it with, looking to build on last weekend's 2-0 win over Crystal Palace with the slightly tougher task of overcoming Liverpool in their own backyard.

 

Chelsea vs. Newcastle United

Scott Heppell/Associated Press

Newcastle United have managed to take points from three of their last four visits to Stamford Bridge, drawing twice and even managing a 2-0 win in May 2012. 

However, the already imperious Chelsea that reside there are now galvanised by the presence of Jose Mourinho being back in West London, making it that much more difficult to repeat the feat, depending on how much attention one pays to superstition.

That being said, a Newcastle side looking to bounce back from a most harrowing 3-0 defeat at home to derby rivals Sunderland will have put Alan Pardew's men in a nothing-to-lose frame of mind, always a dangerous trait in an underdog.

 

Tottenham vs. Everton

Jon Super/Associated Press

This weekend's fixture between Tottenham and Everton promises to have a monumental impact on the race for the fourth spot, with fifth-place Everton travelling to sixth-place Spurs, who lie only a point behind them in the standings.

The Toffees bounced back well from their thumping loss against Merseyside rivals Liverpool to engineer a comeback victory over Aston Villa last weekend, but Tim Sherwood's outfit have picked their moments in sparking stronger form at times.

ESPN.com's Miguel Delaney shows just how well some of the top sides have fared against their fellow giants down the years:

The North Londoners have lost only once in their last eight Premier League outings, and it was only last month that Spurs managed to overcome Manchester United on Manchester United's own turf.

Roberto Martinez's side have drawn two of their last three visits to White Hart Lane, and one has to look back as far as November 2008 to find their last win at the ground, making for a tight encounter this coming Sunday.

Load More Stories
Premier League

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.