Super Bowl Coin Toss Odds, Props Should Favor Heads

OddsShark.comFeatured ColumnistJanuary 30, 2014

Players look on as former NFL player Deion Sanders tosses the coin during the opening toss before the NFL football Super Bowl XLV game between the Green Bay Packers and the Pittsburgh Steelers Sunday, Feb. 6, 2011, in Arlington, Texas. (AP Photo/David J. Phillip)
David J. Phillip/Associated Press

The Super Bowl coin toss is the perfect 50-50 proposition, but those odds were bucked during a 14-toss win streak by the NFC.

However, AFC teams have won the past two coin tosses so bettors have turned their focus to the latest hot streakheads.

The current five-year win streak for heads is the longest for one side in the championship game’s history. Overall, it holds a slim 24-23 edge.

If these trends sound silly, it doesn't really matter because the pregame coin toss has become one of the most popular proposition bets of the most high-profile sports-betting event.

Bettors can wager whether the pregame coin toss lands on heads or tails. They can wager on which team will win. They can wager on whether the coin toss winner will go on to win the game.

Overall, the NFC has won the toss 31 times in the first 47 Super Bowls.

As the designated home team, Denver chose to wear orange jerseys. Seattle, the visiting team, will call the coin flip.

The team that wins the coin toss chooses whether to receive the ball or which side it wishes to start from. Only twice in the first 47 Super Bowls has a team chosen not to receive the opening kickoff, but it might not come as a surprise to see a defensive-minded team like the Seahawks kick the ball, ensuring the second-half kickoff.

The loser of the coin toss has the edge in the outcome of the game, having won the Super Bowl 24 times.

Super Bowl coin toss results (courtesy of Odds Shark):

2013 Super Bowl 47: Baltimore vs. San Francisco – Heads

2012 Super Bowl 46: NY Giants vs. New England Patriots – Heads

2011 Super Bowl 45: Green Bay vs. Pittsburgh – Heads

2010 Super Bowl 44: New Orleans vs. Indianapolis – Heads

2009 Super Bowl 43: Pittsburgh vs. Arizona – Heads

2008 Super Bowl 42: NY Giants vs. New England -- Tails

2007 Super Bowl 41: Indianapolis vs. Chicago – Heads

2006 Super Bowl 40: Pittsburgh vs. Seattle – Tails

2005 Super Bowl 39: New England vs. Philadelphia – Tails

2004 Super Bowl 38: New England vs. Carolina – Tails