Colorado Governor Honors Broncos by Renaming Mountains After Players

Kyle Newport@@KyleNewportFeatured ColumnistJanuary 29, 2014

ADVANCE FOR WEEKEND EDITIONS, JAN. 25-26 - In this Jan. 12, 2014, file photo, Denver Broncos tight end Julius Thomas (80), wide receiver Demaryius Thomas (88), wide receiver Wes Welker (83) and quarterback Peyton Manning (18) wait as officials review a fumbled pass by Thomas during the second quarter against the San Diego Chargers in an AFC divisional NFL playoff football game in Denver.  No team in the 93-year history of the NFL ever had that many players catch at least 60 passes or reach the end zone 10 or more times until the Broncos put up a record 606 points. (AP Photo/Jack Dempsey, File)
Jack Dempsey/Associated Press

Mountains are what come to mind when you think of Colorado, so there may be no bigger honor for a professional athlete in the state than for the mountains to be named after them.

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper, via, announced his intention of temporarily renaming the state's tallest mountain peaks, also known as "14ers", after active members of the Denver Broncos. 

On Super Bowl Sunday, the mountains will go by different names. Yes, quarterback Peyton Manning got the honor of having his name placed on the biggest mountain.

Check out some of the mountains that were renamed, along with some explanations:

Colorado Mountains Renamed for Broncos
Mt. ElbertPeyton Manning
Mt. MassiveTerrance Knighton (AKA Pot Roast)
Grays PeakEric Decker (Grays and Torreys are right next to each other, like the dynamic duo of Decker and Thomas.)
Torreys PeakDemaryius Thomas
Longs PeakMatt Prater (He kicks 'em long-NFL record of 64-yard FG)
Humboldt PeakKnowshon Moreno (He "bolts" off the line.)
Mt. ShermanWes Welker (Let’s see Richard Sherman cover Wes. Right, good luck with that.)

If the Broncos defeat the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XLVIII, Hickenlooper should at least consider allowing the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player to keep his name on the mountain.

[H/t The Denver Post]