World Series of Fighting 8: Results and Recaps from Gaethje vs. Patishnock

Scott HarrisMMA Lead WriterJanuary 18, 2014

Anthony Johnson
Anthony JohnsonFelipe Dana/Associated Press

World Series of Fighting 8 went down Saturday night from Hollywood, Fla.

In the main event of the evening, Justin Gaethje captured the inaugural WSOF lightweight title with a quick and definitive first-round knockout of Rich Patishnock.

Gaethje started the fight looking for the finish, as did Patishnock. The two traded punches in the center of the cage, though the 25-year-old Gaethje got the better of the exchanges. Gaethje punished Patishnock against the fence with heavy shots, and the referee was soon forced to call a stop to the contest.

With the win, Gaethje moved to a perfect 11-0. Patishnock drops to 6-2.

Patishnock was third in line for this. After Gesias Cavalcante went down, WSOF officials called on Lewis Gonzalez. But then he went down, too. Enter Patishnock.

In a fight that served as the unofficial second-most important bout of the evening, Jessica Aguilar captured the very first WSOF women's strawweight title with an impressive submission defeat of Alida Gray. The win further cemented Aguilar as the best 115-pound women's fighter on the planet.

In the co-main event, former UFC fighter Anthony Johnson knocked out Mike Kyle in the first round. In so doing, Johnson established himself as one of the most interesting knockout artists outside the UFC. 


Full Card Results

Main Card

Justin Gaethje def. Rich Patishnock by TKO, 1:09, Rd. 1 (for inaugural WSOF Lightweight Championship)

Anthony Johnson def. Mike Kyle by KO, 2:23, Rd. 1

Jessica Aguilar def. Alida Gray by submission (arm-triangle choke), 2:45, Rd. 1 (for inaugural WSOF Women's Strawweight Championship)

Cody Bollinger def. Tyson Nam by unanimous decision

Luis Palomino def. Jorge Patino by KO, 4:20, Rd. 2

Preliminary Card

Tyler Stinson def. Valdir Araujo by KO, 2:23, Rd. 3

Derrick Mehmen def. Scott Barrett by unanimous decision 

Alexis Vila def. Sidemar Honorio by unanimous decision

Freddy Assuncao def. Brenson Hansen by split decision

Anderson Melo def. Jose Caceres by submission (heel hook), 1:10, Rd. 1