Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka, 2nd Test, Day 2: Video Highlights, Scorecard and Report

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka, 2nd Test, Day 2: Video Highlights, Scorecard and Report
Ryan Pierse/Getty Images

Mahela Jayawardene scored his 32nd Test century as Sri Lanka took a firm grip on the second Test against Pakistan on Day 2 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

After skittling Pakistan for 165 on Day 1, the tourists reached 318-4 at stumps on the second day with veteran Jayawardene unbeaten on 106.

It gives Sri Lanka a first innings lead of 153 as they look to establish a lead in the three-match series.

Resuming on 57-1, the visitors lost two key wickets in the opening hour. Kumar Sangakkara was trapped plumb lbw by Rahat Ali for 26 before Dinesh Chandimal hooked Junaid Khan straight to Ali at long leg after making 12.

Kaushal Silva brought up 50 off 133 balls and shared a 139-run partnership with Jayawardene before falling just five runs short of a maiden Test century after tea.

Sri Lanka 1st Innings: 318 for 4 (106 overs)
Runs Minutes Balls
Karunaratne lbw b Junaid Khan 32 46 43
Silva lbw b Hafeez 95 325 221
Sangakkara lbw b Rahat Ali 26 41 36
Chandimal c Rahat Ali b Junaid Khan 12 24 23
M Jayawardene not out 106 331 230
Mathews not out 42 121 84
Extras 1nb 1w 1b 2lb 5
Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets
Junaid Khan 26 5 75 2
Rahat Ali 26 5 109 1
Ajmal 27 9 45 0
Bhatti 21 3 75 0
Hafeez 6 1 11 1


The opener, in his fifth Test, had already beaten his previous highest score but mistimed an attempted sweep off Mohammad Hafeez and was adjudged lbw.

Jayawardene powered on, seeing off the new ball, and reaching his first Test century since April 2012 with a late cut off Bilawal Bhatti.

It was his 12th boundary with the ton coming off 215 balls.

In-form skipper Angelo Mathews was alongside him at the crease, and they shared an unbroken partnership of 91 for the fifth wicket. The captain, who scored a century in the first Test, will resume on Friday on 42.

The opening match of the three-Test series in the United Arab Emirates was drawn.


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.